Planet Rugby

Dragons

Dragons

Kingsley Jones named Dragons coach

10th June 2014 09:17

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Kingsley Jones

Dragons Head Coach: Kingsley Jones

Newport Gwent Dragons have announced the appointment of Kingsley Jones as head coach of the region.

The former Wales flanker, who has won ten caps for the national side, has signed a three year deal.

Jones joined the Dragons in the summer of 2013 as an assistant coach. He previously coached at Sale Sharks as head coach before taking on the role of Director of Rugby there. After his seven year spell at Sale he was appointed head coach of the Russian National team.

"To be back in Gwent and coaching the Dragons is a big honour for me," said Jones.

"For the last seven or eight years we have been tagged as the 4th Welsh region and the coaching post here is seen by many as a tough job. But I relish the challenge and feel that it is a great honour for me to be coaching Gwent as I am born and bred in the region.

"I have an excellent working relationship with Lyn and together we are driven to help bring success to the region. It will be a hard process but the future is positive, especially with 11 Dragons named in the Wales U20's squad, our fans should have plenty to cheer about in the near future."

Lyn Jones, Director of rugby at Newport Gwent Dragons, added, "I am delighted that we have been able to recruit someone of such high coaching standards.

"It was great to have Kingsley here to help out, at Rodney Parade last season, but having him here full time will be beneficial to both the players and the coaching staff.

"This is a major coup for the Dragons and I look forward to working with Kingsley once again."

  • Dragons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , February 7
Newport Gwent D'gons vs London Welsh15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow Warriors vs Dragons16:00
Sunday , December 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Zebre16:00
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Thursday , January 1
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Cardiff Blues14:05
Sunday , January 11
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
Saturday , February 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs ConnachtTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Bucuresti vs Dragons11:00
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Dragons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , November 21
Dragons 12 - 38 MunsterDragons vs Munster Report
More Guinness PRO12 results
LV= Cup
Friday , November 14
Ospreys 35 - 51 DragonsOspreys vs Dragons Report
Friday , November 7
Harlequins 31 - 21 Newport Gwent D'gons
More LV= Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster 23 - 6 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Saturday , October 18
Stade Francais 22 - 38 Newport Gwent D'gons
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group A
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Saracens28
2Dragons25
3Bath25
4Gloucester25