Planet Rugby

Dragons

Dragons

Alun Wyn respects the Dragons

18th April 2014 11:12

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Alun-Wyn Jones - Ospreys Heineken Cup

Grounded: Alun Wyn Jones

Wales and Lions star Alun Wyn Jones insists the Ospreys will not be underestimating the Dragons this Sunday.

The two sides will face off as part of Judgement Day at the Millennium Stadium, with the Blues also facing the Scarlets.

The Ospreys remain mathematically in contention for the top four but need to be perfect over the next few weeks, and hope that Ulster can do them a favour by defeating the Scarlets on Friday.

Focusing though on the matter at hand, the Dragons arrive at this fixture having leaked 45 points against Treviso last weekend.

Jones therefore doesn't the Ospreys to be the team they bounce back against, picking out Richie Rees and Hallam Amos as two main threats.

"The Dragons have had a couple of tough run outs so we don't want to slip up and give them the scalp they want to get their season back on track," Jones told the South Wales Argus.

"We are aware of what a proud side they are and early on in the season they pushed a lot of big sides and got a couple of scalps, so we are not going to take them lightly.

"They have a few dangerous individuals, Richie Rees has been marshalling them well while they have young guys like Hallam Amos really putting their hands up."

  • Dragons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Harlequins vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:45
Friday , November 14
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsUlster vs Newport Gwent D
Friday , November 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Munster19:30
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Sunday , December 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Zebre16:00
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Sunday , January 11
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Bucuresti vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Dragons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Saturday , October 18
Stade Francais 22 - 38 Newport Gwent D'gons
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gonsEdinburgh vs Newport Gwent D
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gons
Sunday , September 28
Newport Gwent D'gons 33 - 15 Benetton Treviso
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 Glasgow
Friday , September 12
Newport Gwent D'gons 15 - 17 Ospreys
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group A
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Saracens416
2Gloucester410
3London Irish46
4Dragons44