Planet Rugby

Dragons

Dragons

Welsh deal still some way off

11th April 2014 16:13

Share:

GEORGE NORTH TRY WALES SCOTLAND

Left Wales: George North

Head of Regional Rugby Wales, Mark Davies, says his group and the WRU remain "quite far apart" on the future of Welsh rugby.

Despite plans for a new European format being finalised and confirmed this week, the Welsh domestic game is still in a state of unrest, with RRW and the WRU at loggerheads.

A deal regarding funding and release of Wales players for Test matches has still to be hammered out, with an RRW statement this week saying, "Our efforts will now be concentrated on working with the WRU to ensure ... a positive agreement."

But acting chief Davies admitted much worked was still to be done between the two bodies.

"The first and foremost question is are we all committed to achieving competitive regional rugby in Wales," Davies told BBC Radio Wales.

"If we are, then the rest works out from there.

"But what we need to do is establish the principles and fundamental elements that we're trying to achieve first, and that's not something that we've been able to achieve so far.

"At the moment we have on the table exactly the same amount of money that we previously had, with the addition of an offer of £2m of new money from external sources basically which is aligned to some form of national or dual contract structure.

"That isn't going to be sufficient . . . what that means is . . . there's no new money at all from the WRU.

"We've made a number of proposals that we believe are coherent structures that make sense for both parties going forward.

"[They would] ensure that we have a successful national team - which is critical to all of us - and successful regions.

"We are yet to agree on those structures."

  • Dragons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Harlequins vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:45
Friday , November 14
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
Saturday , November 22
Newport Gwent D'gons vs MunsterTBC
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Sunday , December 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Zebre16:00
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Sunday , January 11
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Newcastle19:30
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Dragons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 18
Stade Francais 22 - 38 Newport Gwent D'gons
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gonsEdinburgh vs Newport Gwent D
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gonsScarlets vs Newport Gwent D
Sunday , September 28
Newport Gwent D'gons 33 - 15 Benetton Treviso
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 Glasgow
Friday , September 12
Newport Gwent D'gons 15 - 17 Ospreys
Saturday , September 6
Connacht 16 - 11 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group A
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Saracens416
2Gloucester410
3London Irish46
4Dragons44