Planet Rugby

Dragons

Dragons

Jones deal hits stumbling block

01st April 2014 09:17

Share:

Adam Jones close up and side on

Wants to play on: Adam Jones

Talks over the future of veteran Wales tighthead Adam Jones have reportedly been slowed due to him apparently being eager to play on after RWC 2015.

WalesOnline believe that the 33-year-old was set to call time on his career after the tournament, but a source close to them has now said otherwise.

"It has now transpired Adam wants to play on after the World Cup and wants a longer [Union] deal," the source explained to the Welsh website.

"It has created some confusion because Adam had previously said he planned on retiring from international rugby following the conclusion of the tournament, in October next year."

Sam Warburton has already put pen to paper on a central contract with the Welsh Rugby Union but Leigh Halfpenny opted to join Top 14 big spenders Toulon from next season. Tighthead prop Jones is one of the names the Welsh Regions wanted secured ahead of next year's showpiece.

  • Dragons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons15:00
Saturday , November 8
Harlequins vs Newport Gwent D'gons15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
Saturday , November 22
Newport Gwent D'gons vs MunsterTBC
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Sunday , December 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Zebre16:00
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Sunday , January 11
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Newcastle19:30
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Dragons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 18
Stade Francais 22 - 38 Newport Gwent D'gons
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gonsEdinburgh vs Newport Gwent D
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gonsScarlets vs Newport Gwent D
Sunday , September 28
Newport Gwent D'gons 33 - 15 Benetton Treviso
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 Glasgow
Friday , September 12
Newport Gwent D'gons 15 - 17 Ospreys
Saturday , September 6
Connacht 16 - 11 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group A
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Saracens416
2Gloucester410
3London Irish46
4Dragons44