Planet Rugby

Dragons

Dragons

Henson set for Dragons switch?

02nd March 2014 13:29

Share:

Gavin Henson Bath v Newcastle AVP 2013

Moving again? Gavin Henson

Reports suggest controversial former Wales and Bath midfielder Gavin Henson could be set for a move to the Dragons next season.

The 32-year-old international, often in the headlines for the wrong reasons, has struggled to win game time and find his place at The Rec, as Bath have enjoyed a fine Premiership campaign thus far.

The Express reports that Henson, who joined Bath from London Welsh during pre-season 2013, has agreed a switch to the Dragons at the end of the current season.

If the move did take place, it would see Henson reunited with mentor Lyn Jones - Dragons Director of Rugby - whom the former golden boy of Welsh rugby played under at the Ospreys and London Welsh.

In January, the centre - who can play in several positions across the backline - stated he would consider moving to Rodney Parade, and linking up with Jones in a WalesOnline interview.

"Bath signed me as cover and I was hoping I would push my way into the first team but it's been playing that well I haven't had too many chances," said Henson.

"When I joined them I didn't have a lot of options elsewhere but, irrespective of my future at Bath, I want to keep on playing rugby.

"I do feel I have a few more years of good rugby in me and I don't want to stop at the end of the season. If it's not at Bath, hopefully somebody else will want me.

"Things seem to be on the up at the Dragons with Lyn in charge. Perhaps they'd be interested in me.

"Seriously, I'd consider anything ... I've always enjoyed working with Lyn."

  • Dragons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Harlequins vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:45
Friday , November 14
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
Friday , November 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Munster19:30
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Sunday , December 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Zebre16:00
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Sunday , January 11
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Bucuresti vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Dragons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Saturday , October 18
Stade Francais 22 - 38 Newport Gwent D'gons
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gonsEdinburgh vs Newport Gwent D
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gons
Sunday , September 28
Newport Gwent D'gons 33 - 15 Benetton Treviso
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 Glasgow
Friday , September 12
Newport Gwent D'gons 15 - 17 Ospreys
Saturday , September 6
Connacht 16 - 11 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group A
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Saracens416
2Gloucester410
3London Irish46
4Dragons44