Planet Rugby

Dragons

Dragons

LV= Cup wrap: Tigers edge Exiles

18th November 2012 17:55

Share:

George Ford Leicester Tigers

Tigers star: George Ford

LV=Cup holders Leicester resisted a ferocious fightback by London Irish to get their campaign back on track while Wasps beat Warriors.

Results:
Leicester Tigers 22-15 London Irish
Dragons 20-30 Northampton Saints
London Wasps 28-19 Worcester Warriors


Leicester Tigers 22-15 London Irish

Trailing 19-8 with 11 minutes left at Welford Road, the Exiles threw everything at Tigers - who were down to 14 men - and scored their second try of the afternoon to reduce the deficit to four points.

But young fly-half George Ford sealed victory with his fifth penalty of the game, taking his tally to 17 points.

Lock Rob Andrew scored Leicester's only try, while Irish scored two through Anthony Watson and Tom Homer.


Dragons 20-30 Northampton Saints

Fly-half Ryan Lamb booted 20 points as the Saints turned on the style after the interval to overturn a 10-6 half-time deficit.

Wing Tonderai Chavhanga scored only the third ever hat-trick of tries for the Dragons but it was not enough to prevent his side's second LV= Cup defeat this season.

Flanker Phil Dowson and wing Jamie Elliott got the tries for Northampton.


London Wasps 28-19 Worcester Warriors

Wasps opened their account in the LV= Cup as 21-year-old prop Simon McIntyre grabbed an opportunist try to help sink Worcester for the second time this season.

Winger Jack Wallace and replacement scrum-half Charlie Davies also scored for Wasps with fly-half Tommy Bell contributing 13 points with a 100 percent goal-kicking display.

Worcester replied with tries from centre Alex Grove, wing Andy Short and replacement wing Ben Howard, with fly-half Joe Carlisle landing two conversions.

  • Dragons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , February 7
Newport Gwent D'gons vs London Welsh15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Sunday , December 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Zebre16:00
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Thursday , January 1
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Cardiff Blues14:05
Sunday , January 11
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Bucuresti vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
Friday , December 12
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Bucuresti19:30
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Dragons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , November 21
Dragons 12 - 38 MunsterDragons vs Munster Report
More Guinness PRO12 results
LV= Cup
Friday , November 14
Ospreys 35 - 51 DragonsOspreys vs Dragons Report
Friday , November 7
Harlequins 31 - 21 Newport Gwent D'gons
More LV= Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster 23 - 6 Newport Gwent D'gonsUlster vs Newport Gwent D
More Guinness PRO12 results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Saturday , October 18
Stade Francais 22 - 38 Newport Gwent D'gons
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gons
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group A
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Saracens28
2Dragons25
3Bath25
4Gloucester25