Planet Rugby

Dragons

Dragons

Challenge Cup: Toulon & Exeter qualify

21st January 2012 18:42

Share:

James Phillips Exeter Chiefs scores v Perpignan

James Phillips scores for Exeter

Exeter booked their place in the Amlin Challenge Cup last-eight on Saturday with a convincing win over Perpignan.

Toulon joined them in the last eight after putting 50 past Petrarca while Newcastle lost in Lyon.

In the late game, Stade Franšais made sure of their top spot finish in Pool 1 by defeating Worcester 33-10, with their tries scored by Paul Warwick, Sergio Parisse, Morgan Turinui, Paul Sackey and veteran replacement Byron Kelleher.

Worcester conceded three first-half tries at Stade Charlety, and despite a superb individual score from Andy Goode early in the second-half, the hosts had the bonus secured before the hour.

Results:

Exeter Chiefs 31-14 Perpignan
Dragons 45-16 I Cavalieri Prato
Lyon 21-13 Newcastle Falcons
Petrarca 6-50 Toulon
Bucharest Wolves 26-13 Banca Monte Crociati
Stade Franšais 33-10 Worcester


Exeter Chiefs 31 - 14 Perpignan

Exeter claimed an historic win to qualify for their first appearance in a European last-eight.

The Chiefs made the worst possible start to the clash as Perpignan clinched early tries from Charles Geli and Joffrey Michel to surge into a 14-0 lead within 10 minutes of kick-off

But Exteter turned the game around thanks to the boot of Ignacio Mieres and a Hayden Thomas try. Brett Sturgess and James Phillips then grabbed second-half touchdowns to seal the win and qualification to the knockout stages.

Rob Baxter's men will have to wait until Wasps' clash with Bordeaux-Begles on Sunday to learn if they have done enough for a home quarter-final.


  • Dragons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , February 7
Newport Gwent D'gons vs London Welsh15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Sunday , December 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Zebre16:00
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Thursday , January 1
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Cardiff Blues14:05
Sunday , January 11
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Bucuresti vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
Friday , December 12
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Bucuresti19:30
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Dragons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , November 21
Dragons 12 - 38 MunsterDragons vs Munster Report
More Guinness PRO12 results
LV= Cup
Friday , November 14
Ospreys 35 - 51 DragonsOspreys vs Dragons Report
Friday , November 7
Harlequins 31 - 21 Newport Gwent D'gons
More LV= Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster 23 - 6 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Saturday , October 18
Stade Francais 22 - 38 Newport Gwent D'gons
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gons
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group A
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Saracens28
2Dragons25
3Bath25
4Gloucester25