Planet Rugby

Dragons

Dragons

Preview: Dragons v Treviso

01st April 2011 13:59

Share:

Jason Tovey dragons lvcup

Pivot: Jason Tovey

Dragons Acting Head Coach has named his strongest available side to face Benetton Treviso in the Magners League at Rodney Parade on Sunday.

Meanwhile, there are six changes in the Treviso's squad that will face the Dragons this week from the last Magners League game against Scarlets.

Alberto Sgarbi, who suffered back problems in the last Six Nations game against Scotland, returns to action, as does winger Andrew Vilk in the backs.

Several new faces feature in the forwards too. Both locks Antonio Pavanello and Corniel Van Zyl will be back, while Ignacio Fernandez Rouyet will be moved to loosehead prop and Lorenzo Cittadini will feature as tighthead for the game.

In the back-row, Manoa Vosawai is at flanker, while Brendan Williams starts from the bench.

The teams:

Dragons: 15 Martyn Thomas, 14 Will Harries, 13 Adam Hughes, 12 Tom Riley, 11 Aled Brew, 10 Jason Tovey, 9 Wayne Evans, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Lewis Evans, 6 Danny Lydiate, 5 Adam Jones, 4 Luke Charteris (capt), 3 Ben Castle, 2 Lloyd Burns, 1 Phil Price.
Replacements: 16 Steve Jones, 17 Hugh Gustafson, 18 Dan Way, 19 Gavin Thomas, 20 Andrew Coombs, 21 Joe Bearman, 22 Jon Evans, 23 Ashley Smith.

Treviso: 15 Luke McLean, 14 Michele Sepe, 13 Alberto Sgarbi, 12 Gonzalo Garcia, 11 Andrew Vilk, 10 Kristopher Burton, 9 Fabio Semenzato, 8 Robert Barbieri, 7 Benjamin Vermaak, 6 Manoa Vosawai, 5 Corniel Van Zyl, 4 Antonio Pavanello (capt), 3 Lorenzo Cittadini, 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 1 Ignacio Fernandez Rouyet.
Replacements: 16 Diego Vidal, 17 Michele Rizzo, 18 Pedro Di Santo, 19 Valerio Bernaḅ, 20 Gonzalo Padṛ, 21 Paul Derbyshire, 22 Simon Picone, 23 Brendan Williams.

Date: Sunday, April 3
Kick-off: 14:45 (15:45 GMT)
Venue: Rodney Parade
Referee: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland)

  • Dragons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , February 7
Newport Gwent D'gons vs London Welsh15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Sunday , December 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Zebre16:00
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Thursday , January 1
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Cardiff Blues14:05
Sunday , January 11
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Bucuresti vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
Friday , December 12
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Bucuresti19:30
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Dragons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , November 21
Dragons 12 - 38 MunsterDragons vs Munster Report
More Guinness PRO12 results
LV= Cup
Friday , November 14
Ospreys 35 - 51 DragonsOspreys vs Dragons Report
Friday , November 7
Harlequins 31 - 21 Newport Gwent D'gons
More LV= Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster 23 - 6 Newport Gwent D'gonsUlster vs Newport Gwent D
More Guinness PRO12 results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Saturday , October 18
Stade Francais 22 - 38 Newport Gwent D'gons
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gons
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group A
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Saracens28
2Dragons25
3Bath25
4Gloucester25