Planet Rugby

Munster

Munster

Zebo cools try celebration talk

26th March 2014 09:02

Share:

Simon Zebo Ireland

Rubbishes talk: Zebo

Munster's Simon Zebo has rubbished talk that his absence from Ireland's side in the Six Nations Championship was down to over-celebrating tries.

The 24-year-old finisher, who watched Andrew Trimble and Dave Kearney start for the eventual champions, labelled such claims "nonsense".

According to the Irish Independent, Zebo spoke with Ireland coach Joe Schmidt in March and he told him that his defensive game required work.

"Talk about try celebrations is nonsense," said Zebo. "I don't think there's anything behind that.

"Joe loves to have fun on the training park and things like that. I don't think I'm the only one to celebrate tries. It's probably people looking for a reason as to why I wasn't picked.

"It's nothing to do with finding reasons. It's simply that Dave Kearney and Andrew Trimble have done such an incredible job to keep the jersey. They've made it tough for me."

  • Munster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Sale vs Munster13:00
Friday , October 24
Munster vs Saracens19:45
Saturday , December 6
Munster vs Clermont AuvergneTBC
Saturday , December 13
Clermont Auvergne vs MunsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , September 27
Munster vs Ospreys18:30
Saturday , October 4
Leinster vs Munster18:30
Friday , October 10
Munster vs Scarlets19:35
Saturday , November 1
Cardiff Blues vs Munster17:15
Saturday , November 22
Newport Gwent D'gons vs MunsterTBC
Friday , November 28
Munster vs Ulster19:35
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Munster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , September 19
Munster 31 - 5 ZebreMunster vs Zebre Report
Friday , September 12
Benetton Treviso 10 - 21 MunsterBenetton Treviso vs Munster Report
Friday , September 5
Munster 13 - 14 EdinburghMunster vs Edinburgh Report
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 6
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Munster623
2Gloucester614
3Edinburgh612
4Perpignan67