Planet Rugby

Munster

Munster

Penney awaits business end

19th March 2014 13:21

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Rob Penney Munster

Excited: Rob Penney

Munster coach Rob Penney is looking forward to an "amazing" couple of months for the province as they return to PRO12 and Heineken Cup action.

The Thomond Park side take on Treviso in the RaboDirect PRO12 on Saturday and enter the game knowing they lost to their visitors in Italy.

Following this week's game, they will take on Leinster in Dublin before all eyes switch to their Heineken Cup quarter-final against Toulouse.

Penney though, only has eyes for Treviso.

"They've stung us a couple of times," he told Munster's official website on Wednesday.

"The last two years when we were playing them at home they've been really robust and difficult to combat and I'm sure they'll have their Italian internationals hanging around.

"They'll be hurting after their Six Nations campaign and they'll want to prove some points themselves so it's going to be very challenging on Saturday night in Thomond Park."

Penney added on the upcoming two months: "It's an amazing six or eight weeks now. It's the culmination of all the work that's been put together in the last six or seven months. There will be only two teams in a position to contest a final and there's a lot of water to go under the bridge yet. We're desperately keen to be one of those teams in the competitions."

  • Munster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday , October 24
Munster vs SaracensMunster vs Saracens Preview
Saturday , December 6
Munster vs Clermont Auvergne15:15
Sunday , December 14
Clermont Auvergne vs Munster15:15
Saturday , January 17
Saracens vs MunsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Cardiff Blues vs Munster17:15
Friday , November 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Munster19:30
Friday , November 28
Munster vs Ulster19:35
Saturday , December 20
Glasgow vs Munster14:40
Friday , December 26
Munster vs Leinster17:00
Saturday , January 10
Zebre vs Munster16:00
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Munster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Sale Sharks 26 - 27 MunsterSale Sharks vs Munster Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 10
Munster 17 - 6 Scarlets
Saturday , October 4
Leinster 23 - 34 Munster
Saturday , September 27
Munster 14 - 19 Ospreys
Friday , September 19
Munster 31 - 5 Zebre
Friday , September 12
Benetton Treviso 10 - 21 Munster
Friday , September 5
Munster 13 - 14 Edinburgh
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 1
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Saracens15
2Munster14
3Sale Sharks11
4Clermont Auvergne11