Planet Rugby

Leinster

Leinster

Sexton re-joining Leinster - report

25th August 2014 07:38

Share:

Leinster s Jonny Sexton lifts the Pro12 trophy

Homecoming: Jonathan Sexton

Ireland fly-half Jonathan Sexton has signed a four-year deal with Leinster to return home next season, according to reports.

According to the Irish Independent, Sexton has come to an agreement with the IRFU and will return to Dublin for the start of the 2015/2016 season.

The news will no doubt be welcomed by Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt, who worked extensively with Sexton during his time with Leinster and has stated in the past his preference for Ireland's leading players to be playing at home ahead of the Rugby World Cup.

Sexton's current club, Racing Métro, revealed last week that they had also offered Sexton a four-year deal to stay in Paris.

The 29-year-old joined Racing at the start of last season on a two-year contract with the option of a third beyond 2014/2015.

  • Leinster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Leinster vs Wasps17:15
Sunday , October 26
Castres vs Leinster15:00
Saturday , December 6
Harlequins vs LeinsterTBC
Saturday , December 13
Leinster vs HarlequinsTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 4
Leinster vs Munster18:30
Saturday , October 11
Zebre vs Leinster15:00
Friday , October 31
Leinster vs Edinburgh19:35
Sunday , November 23
Benetton Treviso vs Leinster15:30
Saturday , November 29
Leinster vs Ospreys17:15
Friday , December 19
Leinster vs Connacht19:35
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Leinster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , September 26
Leinster 37 - 23 Cardiff BluesLeinster vs Cardiff Blues Report
Friday , September 19
Connacht 10 - 9 LeinsterConnacht vs Leinster Report
Saturday , September 13
Leinster 42 - 12 Scarlets
Saturday , September 6
Glasgow 22 - 20 Leinster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 1
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Leinster622
2Northampton617
3Castres69
4Ospreys65