Planet Rugby

Leinster

Leinster

Leinster sign rugby league star

12th August 2014 08:27

Share:

Ben Te o

Union move: Ben Te'o

Leinster have announced the signing of rugby league player Ben Te'o, who will join the Guinness PRO12 outfit from the South Sydney Rabbitohs.

The 27-year-old State of Origin representative has played rugby union in the past and will provide options for boss Matt O'Connor in the centre.

He is expected to join Leinster following the conclusion of the NRL season but said he is already looking forward to a move to "one of the leading lights of Northern Hemisphere rugby".

"This is a great step for me personally and is just the type of challenge that I was looking for at this stage in my career. Leinster is one of the leading lights of Northern Hemisphere rugby and the opportunity to return to union was also an opportunity too good to pass," he told Leinster.

"It was a difficult decision to leave the Souths and league in general but I have taken my time over this decision and I believe that what Matt O'Connor and the coaching team have cultivated in Leinster is something special and I look forward to getting stuck in."

He added: "There is a lot of footy still to be played in this season and I owe it to Michael Maguire, his staff, and the rest of the players and of course the South' Members and fans to focus all of my attention on those games starting this Thursday against the Broncos. There will be a time for farewells and thank yous when all is said and done."

  • Leinster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , December 7
Harlequins vs Leinster15:15
Saturday , December 13
Leinster vs Harlequins19:45
Saturday , January 17
Leinster vs CastresTBC
Saturday , January 24
Wasps vs LeinsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 29
Leinster vs Ospreys17:15
Friday , December 19
Leinster vs Connacht19:35
Friday , December 26
Munster vs Leinster17:00
Saturday , January 3
Leinster vs Ulster14:40
Saturday , January 10
Cardiff Blues vs Leinster14:40
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Leinster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , November 23
Treviso 24 - 24 LeinsterTreviso vs Leinster Report
Friday , October 31
Leinster 33 - 8 Edinburgh
More Guinness PRO12 results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Castres 16 - 21 Leinster
Sunday , October 19
Leinster 25 - 20 Wasps
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Zebre 3 - 20 Leinster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 2
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Harlequins28
2Leinster28
3Wasps22
4Castres21