Planet Rugby

Leinster

Leinster

Fitzgerald on track after surgery

17th July 2014 12:01

Share:

luke fitzgerald leinster ospreys

Latest setback: Luke Fitzgerald

Luke Fitzgerald's long-running problems with injury appear to be coming to an end with a September return in sight for the Leinsterman.

The 26-year-old had surgery three weeks ago on a groin injury that plagued him throughout last season, with a three-month recovery schedule now in place.

"I've just got to take the time now, let everything heal up, do the rehab correctly. It is just a matter of being exact on three months," Fitzgerald told the Irish Independent.

"It's an interesting area, the pelvis, because other players can play through the injury I have, especially props because they don't need as much speed as a back-three player.

"But for someone like me it's a huge deal because if I can't sprint, I can't play. This is not as definitive as an ACL or the knee surgeries I've had. The doctor's pretty confident of the recovery time so we'll see.

"It's a three-month injury but I'm looking at probably getting back first week in September or slightly before that."

Naturally the Ireland international has been frustrated at spending so much time on the sidelines, but Fitzgerald knows that the injury has probably come from pushing himself too hard in matches.

"It has been an unbelievably frustrating process and I'm sure there are lots of guys who really struggled with it, it wasn't just me," added Fitzgerald.

"I know from talking to a couple of guys in football and that, who I've met through a couple of things, that they've had trouble with it as well.

"I've keep in contact with a few people and it just seems to be a nightmare of an area, some people seem to recover and some don't and I'm obviously that case that didn't.

"It probably stemmed from me pushing that bit too hard to get back for games, so I probably only have myself to blame in certain aspects of it anyway."

  • Leinster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Castres vs LeinsterCastres vs Leinster Preview
Saturday , December 6
Harlequins vs LeinsterTBC
Saturday , December 13
Leinster vs HarlequinsTBC
Saturday , January 17
Leinster vs CastresTBC
Saturday , January 24
Wasps vs LeinsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 31
Leinster vs Edinburgh19:35
Sunday , November 23
Benetton Treviso vs Leinster14:30
Saturday , November 29
Leinster vs Ospreys17:15
Friday , December 19
Leinster vs Connacht19:35
Friday , December 26
Munster vs Leinster17:00
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Leinster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Leinster 25 - 20 WaspsLeinster vs Wasps Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Zebre 3 - 20 LeinsterZebre vs Leinster Report
Saturday , October 4
Leinster 23 - 34 Munster
Friday , September 26
Leinster 37 - 23 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 19
Connacht 10 - 9 Leinster
Saturday , September 13
Leinster 42 - 12 Scarlets
Saturday , September 6
Glasgow 22 - 20 Leinster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 2
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Leinster14
2Harlequins14
3Wasps11
4Castres10