Planet Rugby

Leinster

Leinster

Two pools of death in Champions Cup

10th June 2014 12:50

Share:

Tom Youngs of Leicester Tigers tangles with Chris Henry of Ulster in Heineken Cup match

Clash: Leicester and Ulster

The draw for the inaugural European Rugby Champions Cup has been made in Switzerland, with champions Toulon facing Leicester, Ulster and Scarlets.

Usually in these draws there will be one so called 'Pool of Death' but Tuesday's event threw up two, as Saracens, Munster, Clermont and Sale Sharks were also pitted against each other in Pool 1.

Pool 2 will see PRO12 champions Leinster face Top 14 finalists Castres, Premiership giants Harlequins and the improving London Wasps.

Glasgow head Pool 4 and will take on two French sides in the shape of Montpellier and Toulouse, with Bath completing another tough foursome.

Finally, Pool 5 consists of Premiership winners Northampton Saints, the big-spending Racing Metro, the Ospreys and Italian side Treviso.

European Rugby Champions Cup

Pool 1: Saracens, Munster, Clermont, Sale Sharks
Pool 2: Leinster, Castres, Harlequins, London Wasps
Pool 3: Toulon, Leicester Tigers, Ulster, Scarlets
Pool 4: Glasgow Warriors, Montpellier, Bath, Toulouse
Pool 5: Northampton Saints, Racing Metro, Ospreys, Treviso

  • Leinster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Leinster vs Wasps17:15
Sunday , October 26
Castres vs Leinster15:00
Saturday , December 6
Harlequins vs LeinsterTBC
Saturday , December 13
Leinster vs HarlequinsTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 4
Leinster vs Munster18:30
Saturday , October 11
Zebre vs Leinster15:00
Friday , October 31
Leinster vs Edinburgh19:35
Sunday , November 23
Benetton Treviso vs Leinster15:30
Saturday , November 29
Leinster vs Ospreys17:15
Friday , December 19
Leinster vs Connacht19:35
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Leinster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , September 26
Leinster 37 - 23 Cardiff BluesLeinster vs Cardiff Blues Report
Friday , September 19
Connacht 10 - 9 LeinsterConnacht vs Leinster Report
Saturday , September 13
Leinster 42 - 12 Scarlets
Saturday , September 6
Glasgow 22 - 20 Leinster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 1
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Leinster622
2Northampton617
3Castres69
4Ospreys65