Planet Rugby

Leinster

Leinster

Tributes for retiring O'Driscoll

01st June 2014 10:08

Share:

brian o driscoll wins pro12 retirement leinster

Winning send-off: O'Driscoll

Leinster centre Brian O'Driscoll was hailed by his team-mates after retiring from his playing career with another RaboDirect PRO12 title under his belt.

The veteran Irish international, who was forced to leave the field prematurely due to injury, watched his side beat Glasgow Warriors 34-12 in Dublin.

Leinster's scorers were Zane Kirchner (2), Shane Jennings and Gordon D'Arcy, as Jimmy Gopperth kicked 14 points to secure the trophy on Saturday.

And coach Matt O'Connor has acknowledged his side had been motivated by the chance to send O'Driscoll out in fitting fashion, which they did.

"Brian O'Driscoll has been immense. They don't make them like that any more and we are just privileged to have him in the environment," he said.

"It's not all about one guy but there's no doubt everyone here wanted to make sure he, Leo and the other guys who are leaving us went out in the right way.

"We have worked really hard all year. They deserve it because they worked really hard throughout the season.

"It was a tough battle. We knew that it would be and we needed to put our best performance to beat Glasgow and it is no disgrace to lose to our team."

Skipper Jamie Heaslip added: "It was great for us to be able to send off a guy who has given so much to Leinster rugby and to Irish rugby with a trophy.

"He has been unbelievable to play alongside.

"We knew it would not be easy and, to be fair to Glasgow, I don't think the score reflected the way the two sides played, but we are over the moon to finish like that."

  • Leinster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , December 7
Harlequins vs Leinster15:15
Saturday , December 13
Leinster vs Harlequins19:45
Saturday , January 17
Leinster vs CastresTBC
Saturday , January 24
Wasps vs LeinsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 29
Leinster vs Ospreys17:15
Friday , December 19
Leinster vs Connacht19:35
Friday , December 26
Munster vs Leinster17:00
Saturday , January 3
Leinster vs Ulster14:40
Saturday , January 10
Cardiff Blues vs Leinster14:40
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Leinster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , November 23
Treviso 24 - 24 LeinsterTreviso vs Leinster Report
Friday , October 31
Leinster 33 - 8 Edinburgh
More Guinness PRO12 results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Castres 16 - 21 Leinster
Sunday , October 19
Leinster 25 - 20 Wasps
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Zebre 3 - 20 Leinster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 2
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Harlequins28
2Leinster28
3Wasps22
4Castres21