Planet Rugby

Leinster

Leinster

McFadden turns hand to goal-kicking

22nd May 2014 15:26

Share:

Fergus McFadden Ire training RWC 2011

Fergus McFadden: Kicking on

Leinster and Ireland winger Fergus McFadden has his sights set on greater involvement with his teams' goal-kicking duties.

McFadden is a winger by trade, and has been instructed by Ireland and ex-Leinster boss Joe Schmidt that that is where he will play, but can also fill in in midfield.

And the 27-year-old is looking to garner more opportunities for himself by improving his skills from the tee.

"I haven't had many opportunities to kick this year. Richie Murphy (Ireland and Leinster skills coach) talked about maybe kicking in one of the games towards the end of the season," McFadden told the Irish Times.

"The injury to my knee was a setback for me to get the opportunity. I practice it every week. I know a day will come where I'll have to step and take a kick in a big game to win it.

"It is just about putting in the work in and knowing that's just around the corner. It is a great string to have in my bow in the Ireland set-up as well. Joe knows he can have the confidence in me to step up and take a couple."

McFadden concedes playmaker Jonny Sexton is in a league of his own, but pays credit to clubmates Ian Madigan and Jimmy Gopperth, both pivots in Dublin.

"Listen, I think Johnny is out on his own in the place-kicking. Ian and Jimmy have been very good (for Leinster) in that area as well," added McFadden.

"You just need to have back-up place-kickers in squads. I put myself in that bracket and if I'm called upon to kick on a day, I certainly wouldn't shy away from it.

"I enjoy the pressure that it brings as well. I wouldn't say no if I was put in that position. But, I'm not putting myself forward to try and knock Johnny or Ian or Jimmy. I like to have it there as a strength for the squad."

  • Leinster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Castres vs LeinsterCastres vs Leinster Preview
Saturday , December 6
Harlequins vs LeinsterTBC
Saturday , December 13
Leinster vs HarlequinsTBC
Saturday , January 17
Leinster vs CastresTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 31
Leinster vs Edinburgh19:35
Sunday , November 23
Benetton Treviso vs Leinster14:30
Saturday , November 29
Leinster vs Ospreys17:15
Friday , December 19
Leinster vs Connacht19:35
Friday , December 26
Munster vs Leinster17:00
Saturday , January 3
Leinster vs Ulster14:40
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Leinster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Leinster 25 - 20 WaspsLeinster vs Wasps Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Zebre 3 - 20 LeinsterZebre vs Leinster Report
Saturday , October 4
Leinster 23 - 34 Munster
Friday , September 26
Leinster 37 - 23 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 19
Connacht 10 - 9 Leinster
Saturday , September 13
Leinster 42 - 12 Scarlets
Saturday , September 6
Glasgow 22 - 20 Leinster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 2
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Leinster14
2Harlequins14
3Wasps11
4Castres10