Planet Rugby

Leinster

Leinster

Kearney sidelined for four months

20th May 2014 18:04

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Dave David Kearney Leinster

Out: Dave Kearney

Leinster have confirmed speedy winger Dave Kearney will be out of action for between four and five months with a ligament tear.

The tear to his anterior cruciate ligament was sustained during Saturday's PRO12 semi-final clash with provincial rivals Ulster, and will miss the subsequent Dublin final against Glasgow Warriors.

Leinster boss Matt O'Connor confirmed the extent of the damage this week, with the province stating the Ireland international will undergo surgery "in the next week or so".

Elsewhere, however, second-row Mike McCarthy's recovery is good news for fans of the club, having already trained this week, while Eoin Reddan came through Saturday's RDS victory without incident.

Brian O'Driscoll and Fergus McFadden are due back in training on Thursday, and are expected to be fit for the season climax against the in-form Warriors.

  • Leinster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Leinster vs Wasps17:15
Sunday , October 26
Castres vs Leinster15:00
Saturday , December 6
Harlequins vs LeinsterTBC
Saturday , December 13
Leinster vs HarlequinsTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , September 26
Leinster vs Cardiff Blues19:35
Saturday , October 4
Leinster vs Munster18:30
Saturday , October 11
Zebre vs Leinster16:00
Friday , October 31
Leinster vs Edinburgh19:35
Sunday , November 23
Benetton Treviso vs Leinster15:30
Saturday , November 29
Leinster vs Ospreys17:15
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Leinster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , September 19
Connacht 10 - 9 LeinsterConnacht vs Leinster Report
Saturday , September 13
Leinster 42 - 12 ScarletsLeinster vs Scarlets Report
Saturday , September 6
Glasgow 22 - 20 Leinster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 1
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Leinster622
2Northampton617
3Castres69
4Ospreys65