Planet Rugby

Edinburgh

Edinburgh

Duo agree Edinburgh deals

18th June 2014 09:44

Share:

Alan Solomons

Happy: Alan Solomons

Edinburgh have revealed that trialists Sam Beard and Carl Bezuidenhout have put pen to paper on deals at the club until 2016 and 2015 respectively.

Centre Beard, who has played 13 times since arriving from ITM Cup side Bay of Plenty late last year, scored against the Ospreys in February.

"This is very good news for the club. Sam's a good bloke, a good team man and has fitted in very well here," Alan Solomons told Edinburgh.

"He [Beard] has got very good feet and has a good natural feel for the game.

"I think he has the potential to play a big part in our squad in the coming seasons."

Meanwhile, Bezuidenhout initially joined on a four-month trial midway through the campaign from South African side the Pumas, with Solomons having been impressed by what he's seen.

"Carl's versatility offers a great deal to us. He is equally comfortable at fly half, full-back and wing, and is an outstanding kicker, from hand and off the floor," he said.

"He's endured a tough couple of months, having joined straight from a strenuous Currie Cup winning season, and I feel that he deserves this opportunity to prepare appropriately and play a full season in order to show what he can do."

  • Edinburgh Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 31
Leinster vs Edinburgh19:35
Sunday , November 23
Edinburgh vs Cardiff Blues16:00
Saturday , November 29
Zebre vs Edinburgh16:00
Friday , December 19
Edinburgh vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Saturday , December 27
Glasgow vs Edinburgh14:40
Friday , January 9
Connacht vs Edinburgh19:35
Wednesday, January 14
Edinburgh vs OspreysTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Edinburgh vs LOU Rugby19:45
Saturday , December 6
Edinburgh vs London WelshTBC
Saturday , December 13
London Welsh vs EdinburghTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Edinburgh Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 17
Bordeaux-Begles 13 - 15 EdinburghBordeaux-Begles vs Edinburgh Report
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gonsEdinburgh vs Newport Gwent D
Friday , October 3
Ulster 30 - 0 Edinburgh
Friday , September 26
Edinburgh 20 - 20 Scarlets
Sunday , September 21
Ospreys 62 - 13 Edinburgh
Friday , September 12
Edinburgh 13 - 14 Connacht
Friday , September 5
Munster 13 - 14 Edinburgh
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Guinness PRO12 Table
PosTeamPPts
6Leinster616
7Scarlets614
8Edinburgh611
9Dragons67
10Cardiff Blues67