Planet Rugby

Edinburgh

Edinburgh

Rennie makes Bristol move permanent

29th April 2014 11:30

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Ross Rennie - Edinburgh Pro12

Moving on: Ross Rennie

Edinburgh have confirmed on Tuesday highly-rated openside Ross Rennie is to make his loan move to Bristol permanent next season.

The 28 year-old has secured a two-year extension to his current loan deal at Bristol after 91 appearances in nine seasons at the Murrayfield club.

The 20-times capped internationalist, who came through the ranks at Edinburgh Academy and Stewart's Melville FP was delighted to secure the move.

"Edinburgh is my home town and I love the club but I think the time is right to pursue a new challenge here in Bristol," said Rennie.

"I've enjoyed my time here since arriving on loan in January and believe it's an exciting time to stay on at the club and push on for a place in the Premiership next season.

"I'd like to thank everybody at Edinburgh - I've had an incredible time playing there and will hold many fond memories."

Rennie's departure opens the door for 22 year-old back-row Hamish Watson - who yesterday signed a two-year contract extension with the club - to compete for the openside berth with appearance centurion Roddy Grant.

"Ross [Rennie] is a top bloke and has been a fine player for this club," said head coach Alan Solomons.

"We wish him all the very best at Bristol."

Edinburgh also confirmed that 23 year-old hooker Stuart McInally, who made 58 appearances for the club before joining Rennie on loan at Bristol, will return to the capital at the end of the current season as planned.

  • Edinburgh Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 31
Leinster vs Edinburgh19:35
Sunday , November 23
Edinburgh vs Cardiff Blues16:00
Saturday , November 29
Zebre vs Edinburgh16:00
Friday , December 19
Edinburgh vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Saturday , December 27
Glasgow vs Edinburgh14:40
Friday , January 9
Connacht vs Edinburgh19:35
Wednesday, January 14
Edinburgh vs OspreysTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Edinburgh vs LOU Rugby19:45
Saturday , December 6
Edinburgh vs London WelshTBC
Saturday , December 13
London Welsh vs EdinburghTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Edinburgh Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 17
Bordeaux-Begles 13 - 15 EdinburghBordeaux-Begles vs Edinburgh Report
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gonsEdinburgh vs Newport Gwent D
Friday , October 3
Ulster 30 - 0 Edinburgh
Friday , September 26
Edinburgh 20 - 20 Scarlets
Sunday , September 21
Ospreys 62 - 13 Edinburgh
Friday , September 12
Edinburgh 13 - 14 Connacht
Friday , September 5
Munster 13 - 14 Edinburgh
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Guinness PRO12 Table
PosTeamPPts
6Leinster616
7Scarlets614
8Edinburgh611
9Dragons67
10Cardiff Blues67