Planet Rugby

Edinburgh

Edinburgh

Gloucester closing in on Laidlaw

03rd March 2014 10:01

Share:

greig laidlaw edinburgh

English move: Greig Laidlaw

Scotland and Edinburgh half-back Greig Laidlaw could be on his way to Aviva Premiership side Gloucester, according to reports.

The 28-year-old, who can operate at either scrum-half or fly-half, is viewed as a replacement for departing England number ten Freddie Burns.

Laidlaw has become a key man for club and country, captaining Edinburgh several times. He played an instrumental role in Edinburgh's run to the Heineken Cup semi-finals in 2011/2012.

Gloucester are currently undergoing a major rejuvenation of their squad for next season, with Wales hooker Richard Hibbard and Ulster prop John Afoa already on their way to Kingsholm.

The Cherry and Whites had been linked with Bayonne fly-half Stephen Brett, but the former Blues and Crusaders player seems more likely to join London Irish.

Gloucester will probably also add a second fly-half option given that Ryan Mills is also leaving the club to join Worcester.

  • Edinburgh Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 31
Leinster vs Edinburgh19:35
Sunday , November 23
Edinburgh vs Cardiff Blues16:00
Saturday , November 29
Zebre vs Edinburgh16:00
Friday , December 19
Edinburgh vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Saturday , December 27
Glasgow vs Edinburgh14:40
Friday , January 9
Connacht vs Edinburgh19:35
Wednesday, January 14
Edinburgh vs OspreysTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Edinburgh vs London WelshTBC
Saturday , December 13
London Welsh vs EdinburghTBC
Saturday , January 17
LOU Rugby vs EdinburghTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Edinburgh Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Edinburgh 25 - 17 LOU Rugby
Friday , October 17
Bordeaux-Begles 13 - 15 EdinburghBordeaux-Begles vs Edinburgh Report
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gonsEdinburgh vs Newport Gwent D
Friday , October 3
Ulster 30 - 0 Edinburgh
Friday , September 26
Edinburgh 20 - 20 Scarlets
Sunday , September 21
Ospreys 62 - 13 Edinburgh
Friday , September 12
Edinburgh 13 - 14 Connacht
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Guinness PRO12 Table
PosTeamPPts
6Leinster616
7Scarlets614
8Edinburgh611
9Dragons67
10Cardiff Blues67