Planet Rugby

Connacht

Connacht

Top 14 funds concern Irish rugby

19th July 2014 19:33

Share:

Ireland Six Nations celeb 2014

A good year: Ireland

IRFU chief executive Philip Browne has admitted that losing Ireland's best players to the Top 14 remains a concern.

Despite retaining the services of key internationals including Jamie Heaslip and Sean O'Brien, Browne is aware of the financial lure to move to France.

Fly-half Jonathan Sexton is currently based in Paris but otherwise the IRFU have done well to keep Ireland's top players in the country.

The IRFU announced that the last financial year had been better than expected thanks to success in the Six Nations and with Leinster, Munster and Ulster all reaching the last eight of the Heineken Cup.

The figures included a €7.3m surplus and only an overall deficit of €1m, an improvement from last year's €4.5m.

"The sort of money that is available in France, of course we've got to be concerned," Browne told the Irish Times.

"We've done pretty well with limited financial resources and limited playing resources over the years.

"We have to look at our business model, number one and maybe have to look at bringing in private money.

"Some of the provinces have been quite successful at generating private money."

  • Connacht Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 29
Connacht vs Scarlets19:30
Friday , December 19
Leinster vs Connacht19:35
Saturday , December 27
Ulster vs ConnachtTBC
Friday , January 9
Connacht vs Edinburgh19:35
Wednesday, January 14
Scarlets vs ConnachtTBC
Saturday , February 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs ConnachtTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Connacht vs Bayonne17:00
Saturday , December 13
Bayonne vs Connacht19:45
Saturday , January 17
Connacht vs ExeterTBC
Saturday , January 24
La Rochelle vs ConnachtTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Connacht Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , November 21
Connacht 43 - 3 ZebreConnacht vs Zebre Report
Friday , October 31
Ospreys 26 - 11 Connacht
More Guinness PRO12 results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Exeter 33 - 13 Connacht
Saturday , October 18
Connacht 48 - 12 La Rochelle
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 10
Benetton Treviso 6 - 9 Connacht
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Guinness PRO12 Table
PosTeamPPts
4Glasgow Warriors827
5Leinster824
6Connacht823
7Scarlets822
8Edinburgh815