Planet Rugby

Connacht

Connacht

Top 14 funds concern Irish rugby

19th July 2014 19:33

Share:

Ireland Six Nations celeb 2014

A good year: Ireland

IRFU chief executive Philip Browne has admitted that losing Ireland's best players to the Top 14 remains a concern.

Despite retaining the services of key internationals including Jamie Heaslip and Sean O'Brien, Browne is aware of the financial lure to move to France.

Fly-half Jonathan Sexton is currently based in Paris but otherwise the IRFU have done well to keep Ireland's top players in the country.

The IRFU announced that the last financial year had been better than expected thanks to success in the Six Nations and with Leinster, Munster and Ulster all reaching the last eight of the Heineken Cup.

The figures included a €7.3m surplus and only an overall deficit of €1m, an improvement from last year's €4.5m.

"The sort of money that is available in France, of course we've got to be concerned," Browne told the Irish Times.

"We've done pretty well with limited financial resources and limited playing resources over the years.

"We have to look at our business model, number one and maybe have to look at bringing in private money.

"Some of the provinces have been quite successful at generating private money."

  • Connacht Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , September 26
Glasgow vs Connacht19:35
Friday , October 3
Connacht vs Cardiff Blues19:35
Saturday , October 11
Benetton Treviso vs ConnachtTBC
Friday , October 31
Ospreys vs Connacht19:35
Friday , November 21
Connacht vs Zebre19:35
Saturday , November 29
Connacht vs Scarlets19:30
Friday , December 19
Leinster vs Connacht19:35
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 18
Connacht vs La Rochelle17:00
Saturday , October 25
Exeter vs Connacht15:00
Saturday , December 6
Connacht vs BayonneTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Connacht Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , September 19
Connacht 10 - 9 LeinsterConnacht vs Leinster Report
Friday , September 12
Edinburgh 13 - 14 ConnachtEdinburgh vs Connacht Report
Saturday , September 6
Connacht 16 - 11 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 3
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Toulouse623
2Saracens620
3Connacht613
4Zebre60