Planet Rugby

Connacht

Connacht

New deals for Connacht youngsters

16th April 2014 13:42

Share:

Pat Lam Connacht v Toulouse HEC 2013

Planning for the future: Pat Lam

Connacht have confirmed the contract extensions of five of its current crop of young players - Darragh Leader, Conor Finn, Finlay Bealham, David Heffernan and Daniel Qualter.

The Connacht Academy has produced another group of professional players with the promotion of Leader, Finn and Bealham to the senior squad on one-year deals.

In addition, last year's graduates, Heffernan and Qualter, have also signed a 12-month extension on their current deals with the senior squad.

The latest contracts make it 15 Connacht players who have committed their future to the province in recent months.

"It's fantastic that we will have these local-born and Irish qualified young men fully integrated into the senior squad next season," said head coach Pat Lam.

"Jack Carty was given the promotion earlier in the season and it's great to be able to bring Finlay, Darragh and Conor on board now.

"I've seen first-hand the work ethic and the commitment from these boys who are constantly striving to improve their game and themselves.

"We know that they are all capable of stepping up to the next level when needed. If they continue to work hard, I have no doubt that they will go from strength to strength in the coming months.

"Our Academy, under Nigel (Carolan), has proven to be very profitable in identifying and developing young talent for the good of the Connacht and Irish teams and the latest four graduates are testament to that."

  • Connacht Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 31
Ospreys vs Connacht19:35
Friday , November 21
Connacht vs Zebre19:35
Saturday , November 29
Connacht vs Scarlets19:30
Friday , December 19
Leinster vs Connacht19:35
Saturday , December 27
Ulster vs ConnachtTBC
Friday , January 9
Connacht vs Edinburgh19:35
Wednesday, January 14
Scarlets vs ConnachtTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Exeter vs Connacht15:00
Saturday , December 6
Connacht vs BayonneTBC
Saturday , December 13
Bayonne vs ConnachtTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Connacht Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 18
Connacht 48 - 12 La Rochelle
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 10
Benetton Treviso 6 - 9 ConnachtBenetton Treviso vs Connacht Report
Friday , October 3
Connacht 24 - 24 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 26
Glasgow 39 - 21 Connacht
Friday , September 19
Connacht 10 - 9 Leinster
Friday , September 12
Edinburgh 13 - 14 Connacht
Saturday , September 6
Connacht 16 - 11 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Guinness PRO12 Table
PosTeamPPts
3Ulster622
4Munster619
5Connacht618
6Leinster616
7Scarlets614