Planet Rugby

Cardiff Blues

Cardiff Blues

Williams moved to Rookwood Hospital

09th July 2014 16:12

Share:

OWEN WILLIAMS rugby union

Safely moved: Owen Williams

Cardiff Blues have released an update on the condition of outside centre Owen Williams, who has been moved to Rookwood Hospital in Cardiff.

The Wales centre suffered spinal damage while playing in a World Club 10s tournament in Singapore, with the Blues issuing the latest.

"Owen was safely moved to the Welsh Spinal Injuries and Neurological Rehabilitation Unit at the hospital in Llandaff this week to continue his long-term recovery," they said on Wednesday.

"Cardiff Blues and the Williams family would like to thank staff at University Hospital Wales who had been caring for Owen since his return from Singapore.

"Messages of support from the rugby community and wider world continue to be a huge source of inspiration for Owen, his family and friends at this time.

"Cardiff Blues would like to thank the media for the privacy they have shown Owen Williams and his family over the last two and a half weeks and ask that this continues to be respected.

"The region will continue to share any appropriate updates when they are available."

  • Cardiff Blues Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Wasps vs Cardiff Blues15:00
Saturday , February 7
Cardiff Blues vs Leicester15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , November 28
Cardiff Blues vs Treviso19:35
Friday , December 19
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:35
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Thursday , January 1
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Cardiff Blues14:05
Saturday , January 10
Cardiff Blues vs Leinster14:40
Wednesday, January 14
Munster vs Cardiff BluesTBC
Saturday , February 21
Benetton Treviso vs Cardiff BluesTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Cardiff Blues vs London Irish15:15
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Cardiff Blues Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , November 23
Edinburgh 28 - 13 Cardiff BluesEdinburgh vs Cardiff Blues Report
More Guinness PRO12 results
LV= Cup
Friday , November 14
Cardiff Blues 19 - 13 Scarlets
Friday , November 7
Newcastle 21 - 22 Cardiff Blues
More LV= Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Cardiff Blues 24 - 28 Munster
More Guinness PRO12 results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Rovigo 18 - 33 Cardiff Blues
Saturday , October 18
Cardiff Blues 37 - 14 Grenoble
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , October 12
Ospreys 26 - 15 Cardiff Blues
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group B
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton29
2Cardiff Blues28
3Sale Sharks25
4London Irish21