Planet Rugby

Cardiff Blues

Cardiff Blues

Stricken Williams flown home

30th June 2014 13:38

Share:

Owen Williams

Spinal injury: Owen Williams

Cardiff Blues centre Owen Williams has been flown home to Wales by air ambulance having suffered a severe spinal injury.

The midfielder sustained the damage while playing in a World Club 10s tournament in Singapore last week, but was safely transferred to University Hospital Wales this weekend.

A club statement said: "Cardiff Blues and the Williams family would like to take this opportunity to pay tribute to all the staff and specialists at Tan Tock Seng Hospital in Singapore for their care and support for Owen following his injury.

"Owen and his family would also like to thank well-wishers for the overwhelming messages of support they continue to receive on a daily basis from around the rugby world.

"Cardiff Blues will continue to share any appropriate updates when available and again requests that the privacy of Owen Williams and his family is respected at this time."

  • Cardiff Blues Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Wasps vs Cardiff Blues15:00
Saturday , February 7
Cardiff Blues vs Leicester15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , November 28
Cardiff Blues vs Treviso19:35
Friday , December 19
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:35
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Thursday , January 1
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Cardiff Blues14:05
Saturday , January 10
Cardiff Blues vs Leinster14:40
Wednesday, January 14
Munster vs Cardiff BluesTBC
Saturday , February 21
Benetton Treviso vs Cardiff BluesTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Cardiff Blues vs London Irish15:15
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Cardiff Blues Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , November 23
Edinburgh 28 - 13 Cardiff BluesEdinburgh vs Cardiff Blues Report
More Guinness PRO12 results
LV= Cup
Friday , November 14
Cardiff Blues 19 - 13 Scarlets
Friday , November 7
Newcastle 21 - 22 Cardiff Blues
More LV= Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Cardiff Blues 24 - 28 Munster
More Guinness PRO12 results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Rovigo 18 - 33 Cardiff Blues
Saturday , October 18
Cardiff Blues 37 - 14 Grenoble
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , October 12
Ospreys 26 - 15 Cardiff Blues
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group B
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton29
2Cardiff Blues28
3Sale Sharks25
4London Irish21