Planet Rugby

Cardiff Blues

Cardiff Blues

Williams cited for dangerous tackle

22nd April 2014 11:40

Share:

liam williams wales v scotland 2014

Cited: Liam Williams

Wales and Scarlets full-back Liam Williams has been cited for a dangerous tackle during his side's derby clash with Cardiff Blues.

Williams was yellow-carded for the tackle, in the sixth minute of the Millenium Stadium showdown, on international teammate Alex Cuthbert but the independent Citing Commissioner, following his review, deemed that the tackle was sufficiently dangerous to have warranted a red card and cited the player.

Williams was later dismissed having received a second yellow for killing the ball in his own 22, with Blues number eight Robin Copeland soon following him down the tunnel having stamped on the full-back's head at the same ruck.

The date of the disciplinary hearings for Williams and Copeland have yet to be confirmed by the PRO12.

  • Cardiff Blues Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues20:00
Friday , November 14
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:30
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Cardiff Blues vs Munster17:15
Sunday , November 23
Edinburgh vs Cardiff Blues16:00
Friday , November 28
Cardiff Blues vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Friday , December 19
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:35
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Saturday , January 10
Cardiff Blues vs Leinster14:40
Wednesday, January 14
Munster vs Cardiff BluesTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Cardiff Blues vs London IrishTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Cardiff Blues Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Rovigo 18 - 33 Cardiff Blues
Saturday , October 18
Cardiff Blues 37 - 14 Grenoble
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , October 12
Ospreys 26 - 15 Cardiff BluesOspreys vs Cardiff Blues Report
Friday , October 3
Connacht 24 - 24 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 26
Leinster 37 - 23 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 Ulster
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group B
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Exeter414
2Sale Sharks412
3Cardiff Blues410
4Leicester Tigers49