Planet Rugby

Cardiff Blues

Cardiff Blues

Anscombe linked with Wales switch

22nd April 2014 07:45

Share:

GARETH ANSCOMBE CHIEFS SUPER RUGBY

Qualified: Gareth Anscombe

Chiefs back Gareth Anscombe is being targeted by Warren Gatland to represent Wales and could join Cardiff Blues.

Anscombe qualifies to play for Wales through his mother, Tracey, and according to reports in Wales is seen as part of Gatland's plans for next year's Rugby World Cup.

Currently playing at fly-half for the Chiefs following an injury to Aaron Cruden, Anscombe missed a large chunk of the 2013 season before returning at full-back to help win a second successive Super Rugby title for the side - his first since switching from the Blues that season.

Anscombe's father Mark is currently the director of rugby over the Irish sea at Ulster.

The younger Anscombe is out of contract at the end of the season and would be an excellent signing for the Blues and a top prospect for Wales, with the path to the All Blacks' number ten jersey blocked by Dan Carter, Cruden, Beauden Barrett along with Tom Taylor and Colin Slade on the fringes.

Wales have struggled to find consistency in the number ten jersey, switching between Rhys Priestland and Dan Biggar during the Six Nations and last year's November Tests.

Anscombe would also be a huge signing for Cardiff Blues, who have already signed All Blacks lock Jarrad Hoeata for next season but are losing Leigh Halfpenny, Robin Copeland and Bradley Davies.

  • Cardiff Blues Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues20:00
Friday , November 14
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:30
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Cardiff Blues vs Munster17:15
Sunday , November 23
Edinburgh vs Cardiff Blues16:00
Friday , November 28
Cardiff Blues vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Friday , December 19
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:35
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Saturday , January 10
Cardiff Blues vs Leinster14:40
Wednesday, January 14
Munster vs Cardiff BluesTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Cardiff Blues vs London IrishTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Cardiff Blues Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Rovigo 18 - 33 Cardiff Blues
Saturday , October 18
Cardiff Blues 37 - 14 Grenoble
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , October 12
Ospreys 26 - 15 Cardiff BluesOspreys vs Cardiff Blues Report
Friday , October 3
Connacht 24 - 24 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 26
Leinster 37 - 23 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 Ulster
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group B
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Exeter414
2Sale Sharks412
3Cardiff Blues410
4Leicester Tigers49