Planet Rugby

Cardiff Blues

Cardiff Blues

We were sluggish - Easterby

21st April 2014 09:13

Share:

Simon Easterby Scarlets coach 2013

Frustrated: Simon Easterby

Scarlets head coach Simon Easterby has bemoaned his side's slow start to their 17-13 derby defeat to Cardiff Blues on Sunday.

The Scarlets found themselves trailing 11-0 after full-back Liam Williams was yellow-carded for taking out Wales teammate Alex Cuthbert in the air.

"The team were out on the pitch in body but probably not in mind," Easterby told the BBC.

"Liam was lucky not to get a red card for that I think.

"He's mistimed it and you just can't afford to take someone out in the air. Once they've left the floor they've got all the rights.

"I think we are a far better team than we showed today and I am just frustrated and disappointed that we didn't show more positives in our game."

Williams was later issued a second yellow for killing the ball in a Blues attack in his own 22, with Robin Copeland then sent off for stamping on the full-back's head.

But Blues boss Paul John was pleased with the way his side upset the odds to claim an unlikely victory at the Millenium Stadium.

"It's the first time in nine I think we've beaten the Scarlets so it's a great win for us," said John.

"The last five minutes were a bit tense for us but I'm just glad we managed to get the win."

  • Cardiff Blues Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues20:00
Friday , November 14
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:30
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Cardiff Blues vs Munster17:15
Sunday , November 23
Edinburgh vs Cardiff Blues16:00
Friday , November 28
Cardiff Blues vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Friday , December 19
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:35
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Saturday , January 10
Cardiff Blues vs Leinster14:40
Wednesday, January 14
Munster vs Cardiff BluesTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Rovigo vs Cardiff Blues14:00
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Cardiff Blues Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 18
Cardiff Blues 37 - 14 Grenoble
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , October 12
Ospreys 26 - 15 Cardiff BluesOspreys vs Cardiff Blues Report
Friday , October 3
Connacht 24 - 24 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 26
Leinster 37 - 23 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 Ulster
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow
Sunday , September 7
Zebre 26 - 41 Cardiff Blues
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group B
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Exeter414
2Sale Sharks412
3Cardiff Blues410
4Leicester Tigers49