Planet Rugby

Cardiff Blues

Cardiff Blues

Gatland views Sunday as Wales trial

15th April 2014 07:59

Share:

Warren Gatland Wales

Watching on: Warren Gatland

Sunday's double-header at the Millennium Stadium is being see by Warren Gatland as the first trial before Wales tour South Africa.

The Blues will face the Scarlets while the Dragons take on the Ospreys at the Millennium Stadium this weekend.

Gatland plans to stage a Probables v Possibles match anyway next month before Wales embark, but has stated that this Sunday will be the first chance for players to put their hands up.

"Judgement Day is the first trial ahead of us picking the squad for the trip to South Africa," said Gatland.

"As far as we are concerned in the Wales management it's a chance for players to put a hand up and show why they should be in the squad.

"There's some fantastic duels in prospect with young pretenders like Dan Baker set to be up against Toby Faletau at number eight and a fit-again Matthew Rees locking horns with Ken Owens at hooker.

"We will be looking to take our strongest available squad to South Africa but eye-catching performances between now and then could be the difference between going and not.

"I'm really excited about Judgement Day because derbies tend to bring the best out of players. They're as close as you can get to an unofficial trial."

Gatland was speaking in Cardiff as he picked up his honorary doctorate from the University of South Wales.

  • Cardiff Blues Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues20:00
Friday , November 14
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:30
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Cardiff Blues vs Munster17:15
Sunday , November 23
Edinburgh vs Cardiff Blues16:00
Friday , November 28
Cardiff Blues vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Friday , December 19
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:35
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Saturday , January 10
Cardiff Blues vs Leinster14:40
Wednesday, January 14
Munster vs Cardiff BluesTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Rovigo vs Cardiff Blues14:00
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Cardiff Blues Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 18
Cardiff Blues 37 - 14 Grenoble
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , October 12
Ospreys 26 - 15 Cardiff BluesOspreys vs Cardiff Blues Report
Friday , October 3
Connacht 24 - 24 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 26
Leinster 37 - 23 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 Ulster
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow
Sunday , September 7
Zebre 26 - 41 Cardiff Blues
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group B
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Exeter414
2Sale Sharks412
3Cardiff Blues410
4Leicester Tigers49