Planet Rugby

Cardiff Blues

Cardiff Blues

Jones wants Ulster repeat

09th April 2014 16:08

Share:

Cardiff Blues scrum half Lewis Jones kicking

Hungry: Lewis Jones

Cardiff Blues scrum-half Lewis Jones is determined to build on their victory over Ulster when they return to Pro12 action against Edinburgh on Friday.

The Blues travel to Meggetland Stadium on the back of the 28-23 win against the Ravenhill side, with Jones hoping to follow it up in the run-in.

"The Ulster game was a great result and reflected where we had been after the defeat to Ospreys," he revealed to Cardiff Blues' official website.

"We had trained really hard and righted the wrongs with that performance, particularly in the first half. Second half we dropped off a little bit, but overall it was a good performance.

"The attitude was right against Ulster. We showed want, good work rate and it paid off.

"We want to play for pride and show we can play rugby. We haven't had the season we wanted, but coming to the end we have lots to play for because we want to finish strongly.

"Edinburgh have come off a few good results and are a strong team," he added.

"It is going to be tough up there playing in a new ground away from Edinburgh.

"It will be a big atmosphere. But we are used to a close environment at the Arms Park where the fans feel on top of you so I don't think it will make too much of a difference.

"They have some big carriers, like Dave Denton, and strong players who have been with them all season and not away on international duty. They have experience too so are a good all-round team who will push us hard."

  • Cardiff Blues Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues20:00
Friday , November 14
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:30
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Cardiff Blues vs Munster17:15
Sunday , November 23
Edinburgh vs Cardiff Blues16:00
Friday , November 28
Cardiff Blues vs Benetton Treviso19:35
Friday , December 19
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:35
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Saturday , January 10
Cardiff Blues vs Leinster14:40
Wednesday, January 14
Munster vs Cardiff BluesTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Cardiff Blues vs London IrishTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Cardiff Blues Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Rovigo 18 - 33 Cardiff Blues
Saturday , October 18
Cardiff Blues 37 - 14 Grenoble
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , October 12
Ospreys 26 - 15 Cardiff BluesOspreys vs Cardiff Blues Report
Friday , October 3
Connacht 24 - 24 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 26
Leinster 37 - 23 Cardiff Blues
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 Ulster
Sunday , September 14
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group B
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Exeter414
2Sale Sharks412
3Cardiff Blues410
4Leicester Tigers49