Planet Rugby

Cardiff Blues

Cardiff Blues

LV= Cup Wrap: Natoga pips Sale

31st January 2014 21:35


sam davies ospreys sale

Winning kick: Sam Davies

Cardiff Blues, Bath, Newcastle Falcons and the Ospreys were all winners on Friday in the final round of the LV= Cup.

Bath ensured they will play their semi-final at home after Aisea Natoga crushed Sale by sealing his hat-trick in the 80th minute against Sale.


Cardiff Blues 35-5 Harlequins
Leicester Tigers 17-35 Bath
Newcastle Falcons 29-0 Newport Gwent Dragons
Ospreys 37-36 Sale Sharks

Cardiff Blues 35-5 Harlequins
Arms Park

A Harlequins side containing a handful of internationals were thrashed by Cardiff Blues at Arms Park, with the hosts outscoring their English visitors five tries to one.

Filo Paulo scored the first and Marc Breeze rounded things off as the Blues comprehensively saw off last season's winners of the competition.

Harlequins could only muster a try from Ollie Lindsay-Hague as Jordan Turner-Hall returned from injury in midfield.

The scorers:

For Blues:
Tries: Paulo, Evans, Fish, T Williams, Breeze
Cons: Humberstone 5
Yellow Card: Hobbs

For Harlequins:
Try: Lindsay-Hague

Cardiff Blues: 15 Tom Williams, 14 Richard Smith, 13 Owen Williams, 12 Gavin Evans, 11 Dan Fish, 10 Gareth Davies, 9 Lewis Jones, 8 Luke Hamilton, 7 Ellis Jenkins (c), 6 Macauley Cook, 5 Filo Paulo, 4 James Down, 3 Benoit Bourrust, 2 Rhys Williams, 1 Thomas Davies.
Replacements: 16 Marc Breeze, 17 Sam Hobbs, 18 Scott Andrews, 19 Chris Dicomidis, 20 Robin Copeland, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 Simon Humberstone, 23 Isaia Tuifua.

Harlequins: 15 Ollie Lindsay-Hague, 14 Paul Sackey, 13 Harry Sloan, 12 Jordan Turner-Hall, 11 Sam Smith, 10 Ben Botica, 9 Sam Stuart, 8 Tom Guest (capt), 7 Maurie Fa'asavalu, 6 Joe Trayfoot, 5 Sam Twomey, 4 George Merrick, 3 Paul Doran Jones, 2 Joe Gray, 1 Darryl Marfo.
Replacements: 16 Nic Mayhew, 17 Mark Lambert, 18 Kyle Sinckler, 19 Kieran Treadwell, 20 Henry Cheeseman, 21 Jordan Burns, 22 Louis Grimoldby, 23 Ugo Monye.

Referee: Matthew Carley (England)
Assistant referees: Gwyn Morris (Wales), Neil Perkins (Wales)
Timekeeper: Lyndon Young (Wales)
Assessor: David Herbert (Wales)

Leicester Tigers 17-35 Bath
Welford Road

Bath produced an impressive away win against a depleted Leicester side at Welford Road.

The visitors didn't concede a point in the second half despite having numerous players away on international duty, with Matt Banahan putting in a Man of the Match performance.

Banahan's try was one of four for Bath as Gavin Henson kicked 15 points, with Argentina international Pablo Matera scoring a try for Leicester along with Blaine Scully.

The scorers:

For Leicester:
Tries: Matera, Scully
Cons: Williams 2
Pen: Williams
Yellow Card: Chuter

For Bath:
Tries: Faosiliva, Banahan, Devoto, Fearns
Cons: Henson 3
Pens: Henson 3

Leicester Tigers: 15 Blaine Scully, 14 Scott Hamilton, 13 Matt Smith, 12 Terrence Hepetema, 11 George Catchpole, 10 Owen Williams, 9 Sam Harrison, 8 Thomas Waldrom (c), 7 Pablo Matera, 6 Steve Mafi, 5 Sebastian De Chaves, 4 Tom Price, 3 Fraser Balmain, 2 Rob Hawkins, 1 Tom Bristow.
Replacements:16 George Chuter, 17 Boris Stankovich, 18 Tiziano Pasquali, 19 Harry Wells, 20 Michael Noone, 21 Scott Steele, 22 Ryan Lamb, 23 Rhys Williams.

Bath: 15 Nick Abendanon, 14 Richard Lane, 13 Matt Banahan, 12 Gavin Henson, 11 Tom Biggs, 10 Ollie Devoto, 9 Peter Stringer, 8 Leroy Houston, 7 Alafoti Fa'osiliva, 6 David Sisi, 5 Dominic Day, 4 Stuart Hooper (c), 3 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 2 Ross Batty, 1 Charlie Beech,
Replacements: 16 Rob Webber, 17 Anthony Perenise, 18 Kane Palma-Newport, 19 Ryan Caldwell, 20 Carl Fearns, 21 Francois Louw, 22 Martin Roberts, 23 Olly Woodburn.

Referee: Matthew Carley (England)

Newcastle Falcons 29-0 Newport Gwent Dragons
Kingston Park

Dragons replacement Nic Cudd was sent off in the 56th minute for a tip tackle on Newcastle centre Adam Powell.

The card had little impact on the Dragons' chances as they were well beaten by Newcastle, who wrapped up a 29-0 win with Fraser McKenzie's try in the 77th minute.

Mark Wilson scored a brace of tries from number eight in the absence of Ally Hogg with fly-half Phil Godman scoring the Falcons' remaining points.

The scorers:

For Newcastle:
Tries: Godman, Wilson 2, McKenzie
Cons: Godman 2, Clegg
Pen: Godman
Yellow Card: Thompson

For Dragons:
Red Card: Cudd

Newcastle Falcons: 15 Alex Tait, 14 Noah Cato, 13 Gonzalo Tiesi, 12 Adam Powell, 11 Sinoti Sinoti, 10 Phil Godman, 9 Warren Fury, 8 Mark Wilson, 7 Andy Saull, 6 Will Welch (c), 5 Fraser McKenzie, 4 Dom Barrow, 3 Oliver Tomaszczyk, 2 Matt Thompson, 1 Rob Vickers
Replacements: 16 Scott Lawson, 17 Franck Montanella, 18 Gary Strain, 19 Scott MacLeod, 20 Chris York, 21 Chris Pilgrim, 22 Rory Clegg, 23 Jamie Helleur

Dragons: 15 Dan Evans, 14 Will Harries, 13 Adam Hughes, 12 Lewis Robling, 11 Hallam Amos, 10 Kris Burton, 9 Jonathan Evans, 8 Ieuan Jones, 7 Darren Waters, 6 Jevon Groves, 5 Rob Sidoli (c), 4 Matthew Screech, 3 Francisco Chaparro, 2 Hugh Gustafson, 1 Nathan Williams
Replacements: 16 T. Rhys Thomas, 17 Aaron Coundley, 18 Dan Way, 19 Cory Hill, 20 Nic Cudd, 21 Wayne Evans, 22 Dorian Jones, 23 Ashley Smith.

Referee: Daniel Jones (Wal)
Assistant referees: Chris Sharp, Gordon Goodliffe (both Wal)

Ospreys 37-36 Sale Sharks
Bridgend Ford Brewery Field

Aisea Natoga sealed his hat-trick in dramatic fashion by also winning the match for the Ospreys against Sale Sharks, Sam Davies adding the crucial conversion to leave the final score at 37-36.

Sale had lead 28-13 at half-time thanks to a dominant first-half performance that included a hat-trick for recent number eight signing Viliami Fihaki.

But the Sharks could only produce a five-pointer from Mike Haley in the second half as the Ospreys came roaring back, Davies showing fine form with the boot and Dan Baker grabbing a try, before Natoga and Davies combined to snatch the win.

The scorers:

For Ospreys:
Tries: Natoga 3, Baker
Cons: Davies 4
Pens: Davies 3

For Sale:
Tries: Fihaki 3, Ingall, Haley
Cons Ford 4
Pen: Ford
Yellow Cards: Harrison, Jones

Ospreys: 15 Richard Fussell, 14 Tom Grabham, 13 Jonathan Spratt (c), 12 Matthew Jenkins, 11 Aisea Natoga, 10 Sam Davies, 9 Tom Habberfield, 8 Dan Baker, 7 Lloyd Evans, 6 Tyler Ardron, 5 Rhodri Hughes, 4 Lloyd Peers, 3 Dan Suter, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Nicky Smith.
Replacements: 16 Matthew Dwyer, 17 Marc Thomas, 18 Joe Rees, 19 Perry Parker, 20 Morgan Allen, 21 Arthur Ellis, 22 Matthew Morgan, 23 Ashley Beck.

Sale: 15 Mike Haley, 14 Phil MacKenzie, 13 Andy Forsyth, 12 Mark Jennings, 11 Charlie Ingall, 10 Joe Ford, 9 Will Cliff, 8 Viliami Fihaki, 7 Andrew Hughes, 6 Mark Easter (c), 5 Tom Holmes, 4 Jonathan Mills, 3 Tony Buckley, 2 Dan Baines, 1 Aston Croall.
Replacements: 16 Marc Jones, 17 Ross Harrison, 18 Vadim Cobilas, 19 James Gaskell, 20 David Seymour, 21 Nathan Fowles, 22 Nick Macleod, 23 Tom Arscott

Referee: Craig Evans (Wales)
Assistant referees: Wayne Davies (Wales), Jon Mason (Wales)

  • Cardiff Blues Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
All times are local
RaboDirect PRO12
Sunday , April 20
Cardiff Blues vs ScarletsCardiff Blues vs Scarlets Preview
Saturday , May 3
Connacht vs Cardiff Blues17:00
Saturday , May 10
Scarlets vs Cardiff Blues18:30
More RaboDirect PRO12 fixtures
  • Cardiff Blues Results
Recent Results
All times are local
RaboDirect PRO12
Friday , April 11
Edinburgh 22 - 29 Cardiff BluesEdinburgh vs Cardiff Blues Report
Saturday , March 29
Cardiff Blues 28 - 23 Ulster
Friday , March 21
Ospreys 34 - 9 Cardiff Blues
Saturday , March 1
Zebre 15 - 10 Cardiff Blues
More RaboDirect PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 2
Heineken Cup Table
2Cardiff Blues614
4Glasgow Warriors611