Planet Rugby

New Zealand

New Zealand

Hansen backs Cane to shine

13th September 2013 07:05

Share:

Sam Cane ABs training 2013

Raring to go: Sam Cane

All Blacks boss Steve Hansen is confident flanker Sam Cane is up to the task of replacing Richie McCaw against the Springboks on Saturday.

Cane has represented New Zealand in nine Tests but those matches were played against the less physical forwards of Ireland, Italy and France.

South Africa are renowned for their physicality and although Hansen admitted Cane faced a massive challenge he feels he can pass the test with flying colours.

"He's ready," said Hansen.

"He's been around the environment for quite some time now. He's a good athlete. Mentally he's able to put things into perspective and put things in the right places.

"It's not an easy job coming in behind a guy like McCaw because you're compared to him all the time."

Cane is keen to impress and said he won't try to change much of his natural game.

"It's a big challenge but I think it's important that I don't go out there and try to play Richie's game, I just need to go out there and play my own and be myself," he explained.

  • New Zealand Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 1
USA vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 8
England vs New Zealand14:30
Saturday , November 15
Scotland vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 22
Wales vs New Zealand17:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , October 4
South Africa vs New Zealand16:05
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • New Zealand Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 27
Argentina 13 - 34 New ZealandArgentina vs New Zealand Report
Saturday , September 13
New Zealand 14 - 10 South Africa
Saturday , September 6
New Zealand 28 - 9 Argentina
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 Australia
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New Zealand
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1New Zealand521
2South Africa515
3Australia510
4Argentina53