Planet Rugby

Australia

Australia

O'Connor stood down by Wallabies

20th September 2013 09:34

Share:

SKY_MOBILE James O Connor

Punished: James O'Connor

Australia winger James O'Connor has been stood down indefinitely from the Wallabies set-up by Ewen McKenzie due to his latest misdemeanour.

O'Connor was this week not allowed to board a flight from Perth to Bali because he was drunk.

And it seems this blunder was a step too far for McKenzie, who explained the punishment.

"We're not not getting the right type of behaviour from him," said the Wallabies head coach.

"There's no doubt since I met with him prior to the start of [the Rugby Championship] he made incremental improvements, but he let himself down at the weekend."

Waratahs wing Peter Betham has been called up in O'Connor's place ahead of their fixtures against South Africa and Argentina in the coming weeks.

  • Australia Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 8
Wales vs Australia14:30
Saturday , November 15
France vs Australia20:00
Saturday , November 22
Ireland vs Australia16:30
Saturday , November 29
England vs Australia14:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 27
South Africa vs Australia16:05
Saturday , October 4
Argentina vs Australia23:40
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • Australia Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 13
Australia 32 - 25 ArgentinaAustralia vs Argentina Report
Saturday , September 6
Australia 24 - 23 South Africa
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 Australia
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New Zealand
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1New Zealand416
2South Africa410
3Australia410
4Argentina43