Planet Rugby

Australia

Australia

McMeniman out for six months

20th August 2013 06:23

Share:

hugh mcmeniman australia

Reconstruction: Hugh McMeniman

Australia flanker Hugh McMeniman has been ruled out of The Rugby Championship and November Internationals due to shoulder surgery.

The Western Force forward played his first Test for his country since 2008 when he ran out against New Zealand last weekend in Sydney, having been named in the starting XV at blindside flanker.

However after winning his 22nd cap, McMeniman's long-standing shoulder problems have been re-examined by medical staff, with the decision made to carry out a complete reconstruction.

The news means that McMeniman will be out of action for around six months, forcing the 29-year-old out of the rest of this year's International matches.

  • Australia Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 8
Wales vs Australia14:30
Saturday , November 15
France vs Australia20:00
Saturday , November 22
Ireland vs Australia16:30
Saturday , November 29
England vs Australia14:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 27
South Africa vs Australia16:05
Saturday , October 4
Argentina vs Australia23:40
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • Australia Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 13
Australia 32 - 25 ArgentinaAustralia vs Argentina Report
Saturday , September 6
Australia 24 - 23 South Africa
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 Australia
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New Zealand
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1New Zealand416
2South Africa410
3Australia410
4Argentina43