Planet Rugby

Western Force

Western Force

Force unchanged for Highlanders

13th March 2014 07:51


Luke Morahan W Force v Waratahs SR 2014

Luke Morahan: Set to play his 50th Super Rugby match

Western Force boss Michael Foley has named an unchanged squad to tackle the Highlanders in Dunedin on Saturday.

The Force will run out the identical 23-man line-up that defeated the Melbourne Rebels 32-7 in Perth last weekend.

It is the first time the Force has named the same squad in consecutive weeks since its Round 15 win over the Highlanders in 2013.

Wing Luke Morahan is set to play his 50th Super Rugby match, after joining the Force from the Reds this season. Morahan - who forms a back three with Wallabies wing Nick Cummins and former Highlanders back, Jayden Hayward - crossed for his side's second of four tries in the opening 27 minutes against the Rebels.

Foley said it's important for his side to make another early statement against the Highlanders.

"Our focus was to start the match strongly last weekend and it was pleasing to see the team do exactly that," he told the Western Force's official website.

"Our second half execution wasn't as precise. This week it's important for us to back up with another strong start and look to improve on our execution into the second half."

Matt Hodgson, who led the Force out for his 100th Super Rugby cap last weekend, will again captain the side, packing down in the back row alongside in-form number eight Ben McCalman and flanker Angus Cottrell, who crossed for his second Super Rugby try last weekend.

Western Force: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Luke Morahan, 13 Junior Rasolea, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Matt Hodgson (c), 6 Angus Cottrell, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Sam Wykes, 3 Kieran Longbottom, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Pek Cowan.
Replacements: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Tetera Faulkner, 18 Ollie Hoskins, 19 Adam Coleman, 20 Brynard Stander, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Zack Holmes, 23 Marcel Brache.

Date: Saturday 15 March
Venue: Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
Kick-off: 19.35 local (06.35 GMT)
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)

  • Western Force Fixtures
  • Table
Australian Conference
Super Rugby Table
3Western Force1640
5Melbourne Rebels1621