Planet Rugby



Sharks leaving Kankowski at home

19th April 2013 07:32


Ryan Kankowski Sharks Rebels 2013

Discarded: Ryan Kankowski

Sharks number eight Ryan Kankowski has been left out of the Sharks' squad for their four-match tour to Australia and New Zealand.

Instead, Lions trio Derick Minnie, Andries Coetzee and Piet Lindeque have been included in a 26-man squad for the trip starting next week.

The Durban franchise has been severely hit by injuries in recent weeks with Springbok wing JP Pietersen (ankle) joining the long line of casualties in recent days, although he has been named on the list by coach John Plumtree.

South Africa loose forward Willem Alberts also misses out, despite being set to return from a shoulder injury in the Vodacom Cup over the coming days.

Bismarck du Plessis (knee), Butch James (knee), Louis Ludik (shoulder), Tim Whitehead (hand), Jacques Botes (hand) and Lwazi Mvovo (hand) all miss out.

Flanker Minnie, utility back Coetzee and centre Lindeque join fellow Lions player Franco van der Merwe on loan in Durban.

The Sharks currently top the South African Super Rugby conference ahead of their weekend clash against the Cheetahs at Kings Park.

They will then travel to Hamilton to face the Chiefs, followed by matches against the Highlanders, Reds and the Force.

Sharks touring squad:

Forwards: Anton Bresler, Craig Burden, Marcell Coetzee, Kyle Cooper, Keegan Daniel (captain), Allan Dell, Jean Deysel, Jannie du Plessis, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Derick Minnie, Wiehahn Herbst, Tendai Mtawarira, Lubabalo Mtembu, Franco van der Merwe.

Backs: Meyer Bosman, Andries Coetzee, Paul Jordaan, Patrick Lambie, Piet Lindeque, Charl McLeod, Odwa Ndungane, JP Pietersen, Cobus Reinach, Sean Robinson, Francois Steyn, Riaan Viljoen.

  • Sharks Fixtures
  • Table
South African Conference
Super Rugby Table