Planet Rugby



Waratahs unchanged for final

29th July 2014 06:54


michael hooper waratahs training

Skipper: Michael Hooper

Waratahs head coach Michael Cheika has named an unchanged XV for the Super Rugby Final at ANZ Stadium.

The 'Tahs will face New Zealand Conference champions the Crusaders in the battle for the trophy, with the hosts slight favourites to win.

The minor premiers have named an unchanged run on side with an extended bench that includes devastating second-row forward Will Skelton.

Two players will be scratched later in the week.

Due to the continued absence of regular captain Dave Dennis, openside flanker Michael Hooper will skipper the 'Tahs for the final showpiece.

Waratahs: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Alofa Alofa, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Stephen Hoiles, 5 Jacques Potgieter, 4 Kane Douglas, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Tola Latu, 17 Paddy Ryan, 18 Jeremy Tilse, 19 Will Skelton, 20 Mitch Chapman, 21 Pat McCutcheon, 22 Brendan McKibbon, 23 Matt Carraro, 24 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 25 Peter Betham (two to be omitted).

Date: Saturday, August 2
Venue: ANZ Stadium, Sydney
Kickoff: 19:40 local (21:40 NZT, 11:40 SAST, 10:40 BST, 09:40 GMT)
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Steve Walsh (Australia), James Leckie (Australia)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)

  • Waratahs Fixtures
  • Table
Australian Conference
Super Rugby Table
3Western Force1640
5Melbourne Rebels1621