Planet Rugby



Hooper wins John Eales medal

25th October 2013 07:11


Michael Hooper John Eales Medal 2013

Australia's best: Michael Hooper

Australia flanker Michael Hooper has won the John Eales Medal after his Wallabies team-mates voted him their player of the year.

The 22-year-old won the award with 297 votes ahead of his Waratahs team-mates, fellow back-rower Wycliff Palu and utility back Israel Folau,who tallied 185 and 177 votes respectively.

Adam Ashley-Cooper (131) and Christian Lealiifano (102) filled out the top five after votes cast over the course of the season were tallied.

Folau, who made his Test debut against the British and Irish Lions this year, was voted rookie of the year.

Hooper's win was the fifth by an openside flanker in 11 years. George Smith won the medal in 2002 and 2008, Phil Waugh in 2003 and David Pocock in 2010.

  • Waratahs Fixtures
  • Table
Australian Conference
Super Rugby Table
3Western Force1640
5Melbourne Rebels1621