Planet Rugby



Cheika keeps the faith

29th March 2013 06:53


Adam Ashley Cooper looking unhappy against Blues

AAC: 100 Super Rugby games

Waratahs head coach Michael Cheika has named an unchanged side for Sunday's Super Rugby clash against the Force.

Returning from a hamstring injury, the inclusion of Tatafu Polota-Nau on the bench in place of Luke Holmes is the only change to the matchday 22 that beat the Blues.

Named on the bench but not used last week, Southern Districts lock Jed Holloway make his Waratahs debut if he takes to the field against the Force.

This game will be the tenth Super Rugby encounter between the sides since they first met in 2006, with the Waratahs having taken the honours on six occasions and the sides drawn once.

One player in the squad, Benn Robinson, has taken part in every one of the teams' past encounters, including the Australian Provincial Championship match between the sides in 2006.

Robinson and centre Adam Ashley-Cooper will both celebrate his 100th Super Rugby games when they run out at Allianz Stadium on Sunday, with Ashley-Cooper's centre partner Rob Horne notching up his 50th Waratahs appearance.

Waratahs: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Peter Betham, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Rob Horne, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Brendan McKibbin, 8 Pat McCutcheon, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dave Dennis (capt), 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Sitaleki Timani, 3 Paddy Ryan, 2 John Ulugia, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Sekope Kepu, 18 Mitchell Chapman, 19 Jed Holloway, 20 Matt Lucas, 21 Ben Volavola, 22 Tom Kingston.

Date: Sunday, March 31
Venue: Allianz Stadium, Sydney
Kick-off: 16:05 (05.05 GMT)
Referee: Steve Walsh (Australia)
Assistant referees: Andrew Lees (Australia), James Leckie (Australia)
TMO: Peter Marshall (Australia)

  • Waratahs Fixtures
  • Table
Australian Conference
Super Rugby Table
3Western Force1640
5Melbourne Rebels1621