Planet Rugby



'Canes name side for derby

26th June 2013 09:32


Hurricanes back Beauden Barrett lining up a kick

At 10: Beauden Barrett

The Hurricanes have included Matt Proctor and James Marshall in a back-three combination with Julian Savea to take on the Chiefs in Hamilton.

The starting XV has few changes from when the Hurricanes last played (on 31 May), with Karl Lowe the only other addition on the openside.

Blade Thomson has been bracketed on the bench with Faifili Levave (foot). If Thomson is included in the 22 and takes the field, he will be making his Hurricanes and Super Rugby debut. Alapati Leiua, who has just returned from Test duties with Samoa, rounds out the bench.

Players unavailable this week include Andre Taylor (shoulder), Tim Bateman (knee), Jeffery Toomaga-Allen (knee), Motu Matu'u (arm) and Ardie Savea (away with New Zealand U20s).

Hurricanes: 15 James Marshall, 14 Matt Proctor, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Reynold Lee-Lo, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Karl Lowe, 6 Brad Shields, 5 James Broadhurst, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Ben May, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Ben Franks.
Replacements: 16 Ash Dixon, 17 Reggie Goodes, 18 Mark Reddish, 19 Faifili Levave / Blade Thomson, 20 Chris Smylie, 21 Tusi Pisi, 22 Alapati Leiua.

Date: Friday, June 28
Kick-off: 19:35 local (08:35 BST, 07:35 GMT)
Venue: Waikato Stadium
Referee: Garratt Williamson (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Nick Briant (New Zealand), Richard Kelly (New Zealand)
Television match official: Glenn Newman (New Zealand)

  • Hurricanes Fixtures
  • Table
New Zealand Conference
Super Rugby Table