Planet Rugby



Lee-Lo gets first start for 'Canes

09th May 2013 07:18


Victor Vito Hurricanes Super Rugby

Victor Vito: Stand-in skipper

Victor Vito will lead a Hurricanes team that includes four changes for their clash against the Cheetahs on Friday.

The number eight takes over the captaincy duties from Conrad Smith who misses out on the encounter after suffering a concussion last time out against the Bulls.

Smith's place in the midfield is taken by Reynold Lee-Lo who will make his first start. Tim Bateman slots in alongside Lee-Lo in place of Tusi Pisi.

Elsewhere, Ben May replaces Jeffery Toomaga-Allen at tighthead prop while blindside flanker Faifili Levave comes in for Brad Shields. Jack Lam and Karl Lowe are bracketed at number seven as are Andre Taylor and James Marshall at full-back.

Hurricanes: 15 Andre Taylor / James Marshall, 14 Alapati Leiua, 13 Reynold Lee-Lo, 12 Tim Bateman, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Victor Vito (c), 7 Jack Lam / Karl Lowe, 6 Faifili Levave, 5 Jason Eaton, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Ben May, 2 Ash Dixon, 1 Ben Franks.
Replacements: 16 Reggie Goodes, 17 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 18 James Broadhurst, 19 Brad Shields, 20 Chris Smylie, 21 Tusi Pisi, 22 James Marshall / Karl Lowe.

Date: Friday, May 10
Kick-off: 19:10 local (18:10 BST, 17:10 GMT)
Venue: Free State Stadium
Referee: Stuart Berry
Assistant Referees: Lourens van der Merwe and Francois de Bruin
TMO: Gerrie Coetzee

  • Hurricanes Fixtures
  • Table
New Zealand Conference
Super Rugby Table