Planet Rugby



Hurricanes bench Taylor

12th March 2013 16:59


James Marshall of the Hurricanes offloads

Starting at full-back: James Marshall

The Hurricanes have made two changes to their starting XV for Friday's Super Rugby clash with the Highlanders in Dunedin.

Andre Taylor, who was the tournament's joint-top try-scorer last season, drops to the bench in favour of James Marshall.

Up front, Jeffery Toomaga-Allen has injured his sternum and has been bracketed amongst the replacements. Ben May takes over in the starting XV at tighthead.

Motu Matu'u has been bracketed, alongside Ash Dixon, to start at hooker, due to the shoulder injury Matu'u sustained against the Crusaders last weekend. The back-up hooker is yet to be confirmed for the bench as the team will wait to see how Matu'u gets through a contact training session on Wednesday.

Also to be confirmed is the number 17 jersey as Jeffery Toomaga-Allen will be re-assessed before the team heads south. Reggie Goodes is ready to step in.

The last change to the line-up is the inclusion of Tusi Pisi, who has joined the squad from Suntory in Japan and will be on the bench for this match.

The Hurricanes will face their third New Zealand based team in round four at the Forsyth Barr Stadium.

This will be the 20th time the teams have gone head to head. Since 2007, eight encounters, there has never been more than a converted try difference in the final score between the two.

Hurricanes: 15 James Marshall, 14 Alapati Leiua, 13 Conrad Smith (captain), 12 Tim Bateman, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Karl Lowe, 6 Brad Shields, 5 Jason Eaton, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Ben May, 2 2. Motu Matu'u / Ash Dixon, 1 Ben Franks.
Replacements: 16 tbc, 17 Reggie Goodes/Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 18 James Broadhurst, 19 Faifili Levave, 20 Chris Smylie, 21 Tusi Pisi, 22 Andre Taylor.

Date: Friday, March 15
Venue: Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
Kick-off: 19.35 (06.35 GMT)
Referee: Francisco Pastrana (Argentina)
Assistant referees: Mike Fraser (New Zealand), Kane McBride (New Zealand)
TMO: Vinny Munro (New Zealand)

  • Hurricanes Fixtures
  • Table
New Zealand Conference
Super Rugby Table