Planet Rugby



Chiefs change four for Crusaders

03rd July 2013 06:36


Ben Tameifuna

Ben Tameifuna: Starts in the front row

Chiefs boss Dave Rennie has made four changes to his starting XV for Friday's clash against the Crusaders in Christchurch.

Prop Ben Tameifuna will start with Ben Afeaki moving to the bench. Sam Cane and Charlie Ngatai will start at flanker and centre respectively and Patrick Osborne on the right wing with Tanerau Latimer and Tim Nanai-Williams riding pine. Lelia Masaga drops out of the matchday 23.

The match will be Nanai-Williams' 50th match for Chiefs.

Rennie expects a difficult assignment against the seven-times champions.

"The Crusaders are a quality side," he said.

"They will be desperate so we know they are going to be huge challenge down in Christchurch."

Chiefs: 15 Robbie Robinson, 14 Patrick Osborne, 13 Charlie Ngatai, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Matt Vant Leven, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke (c), 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Pauliasi Manu.
Replacements: 16 Mahonri Schwalger, 17 Ben Afeaki, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Tanerau Latimer, 20 Augustine Pulu, 21 Andrew Horrell, 22 Tim Nanai-Williams.

Date: Friday, July 5
Venue: AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Kick-off: 19.35 (07.35 GMT)
Referee: Jonathon White (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Garratt Williamson (New Zealand), Kane McBride (New Zealand)
TMO: Glenn Newman (New Zealand)

  • Chiefs Fixtures
  • Table
New Zealand Conference
Super Rugby Table