Planet Rugby



Kahui starts for Chiefs

28th March 2013 07:45


Richard Kahui in Chiefs backline

Starts: Richard Kahui

Richard Kahui will make his first start of the Super Rugby season when he runs out in the number thirteen shirt for Saturday's clash with the Blues.

Dave Rennie has made several changes to his side. Prop Toby Smith, flanker Tanerau Latimer, number eight Fritz Lee and centre Bundee Aki all earn a starting spot.

Scrum-half Augustine Pulu will start after Tawera Kerr-Barlow broke his jaw and Brendon Leonard will make his timely return on the bench after recovering from a cheek injury. Nick Crosswell, Sam Cane and Andrew Horrell all join the bench.

"The Blues are a very good side," said Rennie.

"They obviously had impressive victories against other New Zealand franchises in their opening weeks and had a few arm wrestles that they could have won.

"We have a lot of respect for them and this will be a big occasion for both sides."

Chiefs: 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Richard Kahui, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Augustine Pulu, 8 Fritz Lee, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam (captain), 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Michael Fitzgerald, 3 Ben Afeaki, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Toby Smith.
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Ben Tameifuna, 18 Nick Crosswell, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Andrew Horrell, 22 Patrick Osborne.

Date: Saturday, March 30
Kick-off: 19:35 local (06:35 GMT)
Venue: ASB Baypark Stadium, Mount Maunganui
Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Chris Pollock (New Zealand), Shane McDermott (New Zealand)
Television match official: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)

  • Chiefs Fixtures
  • Table
New Zealand Conference
Super Rugby Table