Planet Rugby



Latimer starts for Chiefs

07th March 2013 17:49


Tanerau Latimer chiefs v bulls

Blindside: Tanerau Latimer

The Chiefs have announced their team to play the Stormers at Newlands Stadium in Cape Town on Sunday.

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie has made several changes to his side. Mahonri Schwalger starts at hooker and Tanerau Latimer at blindside flanker for the first time this season, while Craig Clarke resumes his starting spot at lock and Liam Messam moves to number eight.

Charlie Ngatai starts at inside centre, with Nick Crosswell making his debut and Andrew Horrell coming back from injury. Hika Elliot and Augustine Pulu join the bench.

Chiefs: 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Tim Nanai-Williams, 12 Charlie Ngatai, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Liam Messam, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Tanerau Latimer, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke (c), 3 Ben Afeaki, 2 Mahonri Schwalger, 1 Pauliasi Manu.
Replacements: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Ben Tameifuna, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Nick Crosswell, 20 Augustine Pulu, 21 Andrew Horrell, 22 Patrick Osborn.

Date: Saturday, March 9
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 17:05 (15:05 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)

  • Chiefs Fixtures
  • Table
New Zealand Conference
Super Rugby Table