Planet Rugby



Cheetahs change three for Sharks

16th April 2014 10:33


Heinrich Brussow Cheetahs SR 2013

Back at six: Heinrich Brüssow

Cheetahs boss Naka Drotské has made three changes to his starting XV for Saturday's clash with the Sharks in Durban.

As expected, Springbok openside lanker Heinrich Brüssow returns to the back row replacing Lappies Labuschagné, who is sidelined with a groin injury. Brüssow's inclusion means Boom Prinsloo will move to the blindside flank.

Meanwhile, Elgar Watts starts at fly-half in Johan Goosen's place after Goosen was concussed in last weekend's 52-31 loss to the Crusaders. The only other change sees Caylib Oosthuizen returning to the front row with Trevor Nyakane dropping to the bench.

With Watts promoted to the run-on side, there is only one other change amongst the replacements, with Riaan Smit taking Watts' place as fly-half cover.

Cheetahs: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Rayno Benjamin, 11 Hennie Daniller, 10 Elgar Watts, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Jean Cook, 7 Boom Prinsloo, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Lodewyk de Jager, 3 Nicolaas van Dyk, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Caylib Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Rossouw de Klerk, 19 Andries Ferreira, 20 Teboho Mohoje, 21 Shaun Venter, 22 Riaan Smith, 23 Raymond Rhule.

Date: Saturday, April 19
Venue: Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein
Kick-off: 15:00 (local, 13:00 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Craig Joubert (South Africa), Marius Jonker (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommenstein (South Africa)

  • Cheetahs Fixtures
  • Table
South African Conference
Super Rugby Table