Planet Rugby



Cheetahs unchanged for Brumbies

18th July 2013 10:49


Naka Drotske

Keeping the faith: Naka Drotske

Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has named an unchanged line-up for his side's play-off clash with the Brumbies on Sunday.

The Bloemfontein-based outfit head into the clash on the back of a bye and as a result any niggles that may have been picked up in their 34-13 defeat of the Blues two weeks ago have healed.

"We have done all the hard work and now we are in the knock out stages. It doesn't stop here," said Drotske.

The match will be the Cheetahs' first Super Rugby play-off match since the Free State side became a franchise in 2006.

The Cheetahs have never beaten the Brumbies in Canberra and will look to keep the momentum they gained from their victory over the Blues in Bloemfontein two weeks ago.

They enjoyed a bye last week and will be fully prepared for the challenge Down Under.

Star playmakers winger Willie le Roux and captain Adriaan Strauss will be some of the go-to men for the Cheetahs on Sunday.

The Cheetahs have won their last three matches on Australian soil and have been on the winning side in four of their last six matches there since their first success against the Waratahs in 2011.

Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Willie le Roux, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Riaan Smit, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Lappies Labuschagne, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Ligtoring Landman, 4 Lood de Jager, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Waltie Vermeulen, 19 Boom Prinsloo, 20 Sarel Pretorius, 21 Elgar Watts, 22 Rayno Benjamin.

Date: Sunday, July 21
Kick-off: 16.10 (06.10 GMT
Venue: Canberra Stadium
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Rohan Hoffmann (Australia), James Leckie (Australia)
Television match official: Matt Goddard (Australia)

  • Cheetahs Fixtures
  • Table
South African Conference
Super Rugby Table