Planet Rugby



Bulls name their Boks

03rd July 2014 10:10


Victor Matfield South Africa 2014

Captain: Victor Matfield

The Bulls have included several Boks, including lock Victor Matfield, in their squad that will take on the Stormers at Newlands in Cape Town on Saturday.

Joining Matfield in the side will be Jan Serfontein, Handré Pollard and Francois Hougaard while Marcel van der Merwe is named on the bench.

Pollard and Hougaard will continue last week's partnership in South Africa's win over Scotland, with centre Serfontein alongside JJ Engelbrecht.

The back-row sees Grant Hattingh, Jacques Engelbrecht and Jono Ross combine while Werner Kruger, Callie Visagie and Dean Greyling form a strong-looking front-row for the fixture.

Bulls: 15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Grant Hattingh, 7 Jacques Engelbrecht, 6 Jono Ross, 5 Victor Matfield (capt), 4 Paul Willemse, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 Dean Greyling.
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Marcel van der Merwe, 18 Morné Mellett, 19 Marvin Orie, 20 Roelof Smit, 21 Piet van Zyl, 22 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 23 William Small-Smith.

Date: Saturday, July 5
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 17:05 local time (16:05 BST, 15:05 GMT)
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Marius Jonker (South Africa), Quinton Immelman (South Africa)
Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

  • Bulls Fixtures
  • Table
South African Conference
Super Rugby Table