Planet Rugby



Bulls skipper out, Matfield captain

20th March 2014 13:15


Flip van der Merwe Bulls bloody eye

Out: Flip van der Merwe

The Bulls have suffered a major blow ahead of Saturday's derby with the Sharks as captain Flip van der Merwe is ruled out.

Paul Willemse replaces the Springbok in the Pretoria side's engine room, with the hosts confirming Grant Hattingh as the man promoted to fill Willemse's now-vacant spot on the bench.

Veteran second-row Victor Matfield, a man who has seen plenty of these derbies, takes over the captaincy for the first time in two years.

Bulls revised: 15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Sampie Mastriet, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Dewald Potgieter, 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Paul Willemse, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 Dean Greyling.
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Marcel van der Merwe, 18 Grant Hattingh, 19 Jono Ross, 20 Piet van Zyl, 21 Handré Pollard, 22 Ulrich Beyers, 23 Morné Mellet.

  • Bulls Fixtures
  • Table
South African Conference
Super Rugby Table