Planet Rugby



Jones returns to lead Wales

07th February 2013 12:09


Ryan Jones side on

New leader: Ryan Jones

Ospreys forward Ryan Jones will captain Wales from blindside flanker against France at the Stade de France on Saturday.

Regular captain Sam Warburton has been ruled out through injury, meaning Justin Tipuric has been brought in at openside to partner Jones.

The other change sees Ospreys hooker Richard Hibbard earn a start, with Matthew Rees dropping out of the 22 through injury.

Scarlets second-row Lou Reed earns a spot amongst the replacements ahead of Harlequins' Olly Kohn, with Aaron Shingler dropping to the bench.

Wales: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Ryan Jones (c), 5 Ian Evans, 4 Andrew Coombs, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Gethin Jenkins.
Replacements: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Paul James, 18 Craig Mitchell, 19 Lou Reed, 20 Aaron Shingler, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 James Hook, 23 Scott Williams.

Date: Saturday, February 9:
Venue: Stade de France
Kick-off: 18.00 local (17.00 GMT)
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Alain Rolland (Ireland), Francisco Pastrana (Argentina)
Television match official: Giulio De Santis (Italy)

  • Wales Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , November 8
Wales vs Australia14:30
Saturday , November 15
Wales vs Fiji14:30
Saturday , November 22
Wales vs New Zealand17:30
Saturday , November 29
Wales vs South Africa14:30
More International Match fixtures
  • Table
RBS Six Nations Table