Planet Rugby

Saracens

Saracens

Burger's dark days behind him

26th April 2014 07:57

Share:

jacques burger saracens

Stellar season: Jacques Burger

Facing Clermont in Saturday's Heineken Cup semi-final, Jacques Burger still holds some pain from last year's exit at this stage.

The Namibian international has been nominated as one of six players on this year's shortlist for the Premiership Player of the Year.

Burger came back from a gruesome knee injury last season and was still in pain as Saracens fought on two fronts at the end of the campaign, when they crashed out of Europe and in the league playoffs.

Despite doubts over his return to full fitness, Burger's comeback has won him plenty of plaudits and Saracens will need him at his bruising, uncompromising best against Clermont.

"I remember this time last year we played Toulon and those were very dark days for me," said Burger.

"I was nowhere near fit enough to play and I had to watch from the sidelines.

"It's amazing to think that a year later I'm in this position, you forget about it, once you're back playing you forget how hard it was.

"A lot of people told me it would be tough getting back, I might not ever get back and even if I did get back I might not be as good as I had been before.

"I was lucky I had a great team that supported me - I'm blessed to be back doing what I love and to be playing in the semi-final of the Heineken Cup is just another dream come true."

  • Saracens Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Leicester vs Saracens13:00
Sunday , November 23
Saracens vs Northampton13:00
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens16:30
Saturday , December 20
Saracens vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , January 10
Gloucester vs Saracens15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Sale vs Saracens13:00
Saturday , December 13
Saracens vs Sale17:15
Saturday , January 17
Saracens vs MunsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Saracens Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday , October 24
Munster 14 - 3 SaracensMunster vs Saracens Report
Saturday , October 18
Saracens 30 - 23 Clermont AuvergneSaracens vs Clermont Auvergne Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Saracens 28 - 21 GloucesterSaracens vs Gloucester Report
Friday , October 3
Bath 21 - 11 Saracens
Saturday , September 27
Saracens 40 - 19 Sale Sharks
Saturday , September 20
London Irish 32 - 36 Saracens
Friday , September 12
Harlequins 0 - 39 Saracens
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton625
2Saracens622
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615